THE BEGINNING OF THE BULLET TRAIN ADVENTURE! First stop Hiroshima.


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hiroshima
January 18th 2014
Published: January 19th 2014
Edit Blog Post

This morning I activated my bullet train pass and set off from my hostel in Osaka to shin Osaka station and caught the train to Hiroshima. It only took 1 and a half hours and right now I am on the bullet train going back to Osaka to stay the night in my hostel. Today is my 1stday of using the pass and I have six more days left so I have made some plans to see as much of Japan as efficiently as possible.



Today I saw what was left of the Atomic Bomb Dome after the atomic bomb landed in it. I walked around the Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park which was incredibly peaceful and relaxing. Then I went to the Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum which was very informative and gave in depth information (in English and Japanese) about the causes and effects of the atomic bomb from the viewpoint of the Japanese. It’s very interesting to see information about WW2 in Asia, because they were as much affected by the war as we were yet in history lessons in England you rarely hear much about the consequences of the war for Japan, China, Thailand and Laos.



In the afternoon I walked around the centre of Hiroshima imagining what it would be like to live there. I liked it a lot but there didn’t seem to be many foreigners. Apparently they come in Cherry Blossom season around March time. It was a very peaceful place with plenty of shops and cafes, and two big parks.



I stopped off at an oyster restaurant, and had a set meal. PIC – hiroshima’sv speciality soy sauce tasted fried oysters with warm rice. It had red ginger on it. Here they colour the ginger red to improve the food’s presentation. Also I had oyster soup and Japanese pickle. In the evening I stopped for a few dessert and coffee breaks, perhaps more than I should have. The food is so delicious here and its quite cheap, Japanese food is an incredible experience in itself. I think I am still dreaming, it is so good! I hope I never wake up from this wonderful dream.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.302s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.103s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb