Santa-san!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hiroshima
December 21st 2005
Published: December 21st 2005
Edit Blog Post

I took on a new role today: Santa Claus! or Santa-san as the Japanese call him. I was asked by the Habu pre-school to play the part of Santa for their kids. It was so much fun! When I got there I was ushered through the back door to make sure that no one saw me. I was dressed in a full Santa costume and then brought out on stage to a crowd of 71 little kids. Imagine a room full of tiny faces totally shocked to see this giant, foreign Santa-san standing in front of them shouting 'HO! HO! HO! Merry Christmas!' There a good chance that I was the first foreign person they have ever seen in real life...not to mention the oh-so-fabulous 'man' that they believe will bring them gifts on Dec. 25th! It was priceless!!

We had a Q & A session where they asked me about Mrs. Claus, where I live, how much snow is there, and what I will bring them for Christmas. Then I sang them Silent Night and Jingle Bells (a little embarassing!!). Each of the age groups performed a song as well. Oh, the kids were ages one to five! Sooooo
Merry Christmas Daiki!Merry Christmas Daiki!Merry Christmas Daiki!

He's 2 years old.....and he gave me a kiss on the cheek! Awwwww
cute! The five year olds also had a candle lighting ceremony, where they sang a song and Santa (me!) lit their candles. I handed out a few presents, and we had group photos. All the kids were fighting to sit on my knee! I'm so glad I had the chance to do this!

Merry Christmas!


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Santa sings!Santa sings!
Santa sings!

"Jingle Bells" and "Silent Night" in English!!
2 yr old group2 yr old group
2 yr old group

they were fighting to get to sit on Santa's lap! i don't have a picture of the 1 yr olds....but they were extra cute!
5 yr old girls5 yr old girls
5 yr old girls

p.s. the characters written on the bunnies in the background spells out "Christmas"


21st December 2005

Priceless!
Hi Heather! The photo of "Santa" with the microphone is classic! Love it...rock on, Santa:)
21st December 2005

Priceless!
Hi Heather! The photo of "Santa" with the microphone is classic! Love it...rock on, Santa:) from Stayshi
21st December 2005

oh my goodness
i cannot imagine you singing in front of all those people! you'll have to give me a rendition when you get home! that's amazing.
2nd January 2006

Heather... you´re nuts!!! I am laughing so hard I´m crying right now at the internet cafe!!!! I can only imagine you! I wish I was there! A red head Santa! Love it!
3rd January 2006

That's so cute!
4th January 2006

Help!
hello, i am amazed of everythingyour doing in Japan, i am from america, just got back from europe no more than 1 month ago and now im going no another study abroad trip to japan for 7 weeks. Im nervous, excited, happy at the same time but im not sure what to expect with such differetn cultures.. Please email me and let me know prices and things to kno before i go .. i may change my mind.thank you nicole xxsweetcheeekzxx@yahoo.com 3 e's on the cheeekz thanks. nikki
4th January 2006

Lovin' the costume!
Heather... that's awesome that you got to be Santa-san!!!! Looks like it was sooo much fun!
10th January 2006

love ya
I miss you a lot. It looks like your having an amazing time. I can't wait to hear from you. Peace Man.
14th February 2006

Santa Heather is my favourite Santa, EVER!

Tot: 0.185s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 79; dbt: 0.0703s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb