Andokai at Akifuchu Senior High School


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hiroshima
October 1st 2005
Published: October 10th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Recovery after the Flour-Face Dunk Obstacle CourseRecovery after the Flour-Face Dunk Obstacle CourseRecovery after the Flour-Face Dunk Obstacle Course

These are 5 of my third-year students who have just engaged in a strenous obstacle course, in which the last obstacle was to retrieve something from a plateful of flour. Poor Kana, on the far right, was just covered!
Believe it or not, although you may not be able to tell by my blog entries thus far, I am actually teaching English in Japan! I am teaching at Akifuchu Senior Highschool, which is located about 20 minutes outside of Hiroshima City. The school which has about 700 students, is the only school to have an international course in the prefecture.

In autumn, all schools in Japan have an annual "andokai" or "sports day", in which students and even sometimes parents (!) and teachers (!) engage in strenous competition throughout the day! Akifuchu's Sports Day was held on October 1st. The student body was divided up into two teams, the Reds versus the Whites. Some of the events included the classic tug of war, the traditional relay race (in which I don't think I've ever seen kids run so fast in all of my life!), and the ever popular, yet highly unusual obstacle courses which forced students to dunk their faces into plates of flour, or grab with their teeth for donuts in plastic bags, just to name a few...

Dob, the other Assistant Language Teacher at my school, and I were involved in two events throughout the day.
Don-ut look delicious?Don-ut look delicious?Don-ut look delicious?

Regrettably, I was not asked to partake in this competition. Another obstacle course, in which the final challenge involved retrieving a donut with your teeth from a string
We were volunteered to participate in a bean bag tossing-like event with the PTA, principal and vice-principal, in which we went tete a tete with the winning team of a previous competition. The objective was to toss as many bean bags into a net as possible, and our side (with no help from me!) prevailed! The BIG competition came in the afternoon as Dob and I entered a relay race with the English Speaking Society. We placed a healthy 4th out of 6 teams, beating the volleyball team, who had to bump the volleyball all away around the track (...they didn't stand a chance😉

The day also featured each year performing a dance as a group. The first years did a graceful dance routine, the second years an acrobatics expose, and the third years a riveting folk dance performance.

At the end of the day, the Reds won the competition. This autumnal (although it was incredibly hot!) sports festival was something I am very glad to have witnessed. A fun time was had by all😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Pyramid of Ni-nenseiPyramid of Ni-nensei
Pyramid of Ni-nensei

This is the ni-nensei (second-year students) forming a pyramid for their dance performance...wow!
Beijing 2008, here we come!Beijing 2008, here we come!
Beijing 2008, here we come!

The English Speaking Society (ESS) relay team, from L-R (Dob, Mie, Kaori, Kana, and me) after our riveting 4th place performance
It wasn't all serious...It wasn't all serious...
It wasn't all serious...

This is Yuri, myself, and Natsuka, two of my first-year students, hanging out during the day...
At times it got rough...At times it got rough...
At times it got rough...

One of the more strenous (and dusty competitions) which involved the "stealing" of objects from the opposing team, including logs
Sporty SpiderSporty Spider
Sporty Spider

This really has nothing to do with Sports Day, but this is one of the spiders that "hangs out" in the tunnel I walk through to get to school each day, and I had my camera. Apparently native spiders of Japan aren't poisonous...they can just kill you by looking scary! Yikes!


14th October 2005

Mmmmmmmmmmm Doooonuts
Looking at those donuts has made me want to put on some clothes, get in my car, pollute the environment, go to Tim Hortons, get a Boston Cream and retract all the benefits that i achieved by doing the stairs today. I haven't had a donut since July :-(
23rd October 2005

I don't claim to know great pics...
...but "Recovery after the Flour-Face Dunk Obstacle Course" is a GREAT pic, and I don't even like pics with people in them! SO animated...makes me happy! BEAUTY, Suteshi-chan!
16th November 2005

spent one year as a student at akifuchu koukou
I used to be an exchange student there year 2000-2001. from your pics..make me think of them all at akifuchu
14th March 2006

Past exchange student at Akifuchu High School
I went to Akifuchu from Sept. 2003-June 2004. I recognize a lot of the third year students in the pics like: Umi, Shiho, Kana, Kaori, Mei, Urika and others. I would like to give a shout out to all the third years and I hope they have success on their up coming exams, and have a great graduation. Laura Scott (Canada)

Tot: 0.405s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 20; qc: 105; dbt: 0.3224s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb