A beautiful place with an horrific tale...


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hiroshima
August 23rd 2007
Published: August 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My favourite...My favourite...My favourite...

This is the third Beard Papa's that I have eaten from...London, Tokyo and now Osaka...oishii...
Before heading of west again on the Shinkansen (bullet train) I spent one last day in Kobe and Osaka with my new friend Kouhei. He gave me a little tour of Kobe and bought me a fan which says on it in Japanese, 'life goes up and down' and a cute little friendship bracelet that when it breaks my wishes will come true...

That night I moved to Osaka, where this year the World Athletics are taking place. (No Nigel and Colin...I didn't go!) Went to have a look at Kouhei's college and of course went and got some Puri Kura stickers which I am now collecting. After bowing goodbye I ventured off into the night-time streets of Osaka in search of some live Jazz. In my guide book it had a place written down on a map where I could find some...I get there and yes, that building has been half knocked down...ahhaaha. Luckily for me though, I was just about to head back to the subway when across the road I see a small red neon sign saying something about Jazz...hooray! All ends well with that mission...

I finished my night, well morning really in Osaka at
Puri Kura (Print Club)...Puri Kura (Print Club)...Puri Kura (Print Club)...

These are the only pictures I have of Kouhei and I. Worn out after our jam packed day in Kobe and Osaka...
a very small club in the Minami district...where all the crazy cool kids go. It was a free psy-trance rave and was one of the best things I have experienced here in Japan! I still can't believe I stumbled across it, it was fate! Now comparing it to London...their dancing is far more minimal and confined on the spot. The decorations were good with fluorescent cotton wool all over the floor which I had fun with this girl throwing at her friends. In total there was only about 30 people in this little bar, and ended up with about 7 of us dancing away until the morning...

Arriving in Hiroshima with 2 hours worth of sleep in me wasn't so great...especially when the hostel owner told me I had to wait another 2 hours before I could check in at 4pm! Finally I was able to check in and have the shower I had been longing for...

Spent my first day exploring the Peace Park by bicycle and looking round the Peace Memorial Museum. It was so sad...I kept welling up. The world's first atomic bomb hit Hiroshima at 8:15am, August 6th 1945...and there was even a burnt
So sad...So sad...So sad...

When I saw this I just felt awful...
watch on display that still had its time set at 8:15am. That just did it for me...everything in this place was so interesting yet so awful at the same time. By the time it got to showing photographs of victims I'd had enough, couldn't take anymore...

My second day was slightly more uplifting, with a visit to the island of Miyajima. Fortunately my Japan Rail Pass covered the cost of the ferry too! This island is where the famous floating Torii is (see picture).
I decided to get a cable car up to towards the top of Mt. Misen in hope of seeing some monkeys...and so I did. They were adorable. I happened to bump into two Australians who were in my hostel dorm in Osaka! And altogether we climbed to the very top of Mt. Misen, in the sweltering humidity...I didn't think it was a wise idea whilst clambering up in my flip flops, but the feeling when reaching the top made up for it...



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Floating Torii...Floating Torii...
Floating Torii...

When you are in Japan I think you just automatically do the peace sign because everyone else around you does...


29th August 2007

shiawase
heya been following all your blogs...looks like youre having the most amazing time! hope the rest of your time is just as good, will have to have a good chat when youre back xx
29th August 2007

What?
You area travelling willberry........see u soon sis xx
29th August 2007

Morning here in UK You still amaze me the time that you are having. BUT please be carefull where you go Love you lots Dad
29th August 2007

Last week !
Well another interesting journal entry...... the title at first had me worried after the previous one !! It makes you appreciate life when you see how it was not that long ago these horrific things happened. Enjoy your last week, and see you soon Love Okasan xxx
29th August 2007

Sumo
Hi Wonderwoman, try to find out where they hold a Sumo Wrestling match, i think you would enjoy it as there is a lot of tradition in the bouts.keep us informed with your interesting blogs,love Uncle Coco Pops.xxx
29th August 2007

Hi Lucy, sounds as if you're lucky enough to see the real Japan; something I never had the time to do in the week that I was there! Glad you are having a wonderful time, reading the blogs with interest. Take Care

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0707s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb