Himeji and kobe


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hiroshima » Miyajima
March 25th 2016
Published: March 25th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Hello again,

Arrived in miyajima 2 days ago and it is wonderfull. It is a small place southwest of hiroshima with an island a little off the coast. I will explore Hiroshima and the island later on during my stay because for now I have the JR west pass. I visited Himeji castle yesterday which was amazing. It is a huge complex with walls all around and a lot of info on the history of feudal Japanese warfare, it was a very fun and learning experience. Today I went to kobe which was even better. Just behind the station there is a hiking trail with beautiful waterfalls. I encountered a little bridge and at the end was a sign with kanji ( japanese written language ) on it. Not knowing what it said I thought: " eh, what the hell, I will check it out ". So as I continued along the path I noticed there was literally no one there, I did encounter some folks on the other path. So after a while the path basically just became a forest trail with little to none markings. But I was really curious to see where it went. So I got to the end and it gave me an amazing view over kobe, it's harbor and the Inland Sea. Then in kobe I walked through the a neighbourhood which used to house western traders. And every country had it's own house. It was really funny and weird to walk through here, cause it felt a little like home! Starving for food I checked out the lonely planet recommended wanto burger. Kobe beef burgers! Best burgers I have ever had and probably ever will until I get to in 'n out burger in cali.
All in all I am still having one of the best times of my life. Although I have to say I am really starting to miss my family, friends and hometown.

Hugs 'n kisses,

Lou

Advertisement



Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0585s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb