Gifu Castle


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Gifu
October 13th 2006
Published: October 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I forgot to mention that sushi was on the breakfast buffet along with shredded lettuce salad. I skipped those and chose more standard fare. I will admit that I ate meat today that I was not sure of its source. I repeatedly asked the waitress what it was. She just garbled words back to me. I had said that I wasn:t going to eat anything unless I was sure what it was, but I lied. Hungry overcomes reasoning. We took a short trip to Gifu Park today. The Japanese gardens were lovely. We took a cablecar up to the Gifu Castle. People are very polite here but speak only a little English.

Advertisement



25th October 2006

Food Choices
E, I know what you mean! The first night we were in France, the group met for dinner at a very nice restaurant in Cannes where we were served a beautiful fresh green salad followed by a meat that looked like chicken. We asked what it was but were told it was SOMETHING LIKE CHICKEN. We were never told exactly what it was but think it was pheasant, very tasty but some would not try it.I also saw rabbit on many menus and the whole thing dead in the market in Avignon. Boar is big there too. When in Rome, do as the Romans do is my theory. I would try ALMOST everything. Robin
26th October 2006

Wild Boar
R, We tried wild boar in Nepal along with dried venison. Both were very tasty. I have had several good fish dishes but have been unsure what kind of fish I was eating. Often the name is in another language. I have liked many of the Asian dishes but did not care for the Indian food. It was very strong in flavor. I don't particularly care for vegetables for breakfast. They always serve soggy bacon or chicken sausage which looks like vienna sausage. The breads have been great in every country. I am glad that you had a good trip to France. E

Tot: 0.453s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0682s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb