Nagoya to Gifu City...and My Past


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Gifu
September 22nd 2007
Published: September 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We were running a bit early so we decided to stopover for an day in Nagoya. As I had done no real research on the area, I did not know what to expect. It's a sleep little city, with a lot going for it. The Atsuta Jingu is a part in the centre of town, sort of an oasis from the concrete that dominates the city. A park and shine combo, it boast holding the sacred sword Kusanagi-no-tsurugi, one of the imperial symbols of ancient Japan. We did not see the sword but a replica in the museum close by. That is really typical in Japan as a whole: don't get too excited to see sacred artifacts because they are usually locked up tight. The shrine itself was havilky dammaged during the war and rebuilt. Since then, it's a pretty active place with lots of cerimonies and woshippers coming by.

It's intersting to me that both Buddhists and Shinto are very mellow religions compared to Christianity in my mind. They don't ask a lot of you, just what you are willing to give. And I really like the whole lack of massive guilt and sin thing too. They both have
The best foodThe best foodThe best food

This is a kebab place...snacks on a grill, and their lucky cat is holding a skewer.
very cool dehities as well. The Atsuta Jingu has five deities inshrined together, sort of like a commune, and you pick the one that can help you out that day. Nice.

The part itself is also a great place to mellow out. I feel a bit ragged from Osaka, as it is a town that really demmands a lot of energy from you. Also I am looking forward to going to Gifu City and seeing Takao-san and his wife after 16 years. I was on a homestay program and they were sort of second parents to me. But, before I dwell too much on it, we have to make our way to the city first. I love trains, and Japan is a train country. We'll take the slow one so we can see the sights at the same time. It's so facinating to pass rice filed, then a town, then a city with huge temples looming at you from your window seat on the train.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 60; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb