Ho Ho Ho!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Ehime » Ochi » Kamijima
December 28th 2007
Published: December 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

shima610shima610shima610

my record of my fond memories of the Santa costume
Happy Holidays Everyone!
Like all good hardworking Japanese folks, I worked on Christmas day and through the rest of the week. However, I still managed to celebrate Christmas in many ways.

About a month ago the head teacher at the preschool asked me if I would play my violin at their winter performance. Of course there was a catch. She requested that I do it dressed in a female Santa Claus costume. You can imagine that I wasn’t too enthusiastic about the Santa costume part, but of course I agreed. I accompanied my oldest preschool students on the tune “Santa Claus is Coming to Town,” which to their parents’ surprise, they sang entirely in English. I also played solos of “Silent Night” (more like a nightmare) and to redeem myself, a traditional old time tune that went quite well. You’d probably think a little preschool performance is nothing to get nervous about, but if you could have seen how many parents, camera flashes, video cameras, and of course the local newsletter and TV reporters there, you would be nervous too!

After the preschool performance was finished, I was invited to make traditional New Year’s decorations, called shimekazari, at the
shima611shima611shima611

nervous preschoolers before their performance
community center. They are made by twisting rice straw and are traditionally displayed at the entrance of a house to bring in good luck for the New Year. Twisting the three sections of straw together requires two people to make sure it is tight enough.

The last week of classes before the students’ break I made gingerbread houses (actually graham crackers) with my third year students at the junior high school. I was a little worried because I bought all the materials and my parents sent me graham crackers from the U.S., and then I realized I’ve never actually made a gingerbread house before, so I don’t really know how to teach it. But, how hard could it be? And actually, it turned out that Eri, the teacher I teach with, had made one once when she was studying abroad in the U.S. Still it took most of the class period just for the students to get the walls of the houses to stick together. But, in the end, their houses turned out better than expected, and they all had a good time, which is what matters the most.

And, as I did last year, I took my
shima612shima612shima612

Fish Head
adult English conversation class Christmas caroling around Yuge Island. We had many more people join us this year than last year. I think everyone was a little too embarrassed to just go up to peoples houses and sing last year. But everyone had a good time last year, so I think more people wanted to join this year. We sang at many people’s houses, including my junior high school principal who came to the door in his pajamas. We even went to the mayor’s house, but only his wife was home. Many people gave us gifts for singing to them. After we finished caroling, we had a gift exchange, and I received an eco-friendly gift of a hot water bottle to keep me warm and a reusable grocery shopping bag.

Finally, Christmas is not Christmas without my dad’s fruit cake recipe. So, I bought the supermarket’s entire stock of dried fruits and whipped up some delicious fruit cake to divide into 35 pieces for all my coworkers! I think they all liked it too!

And, to make up for the past week of cold grey days in the office and under my kotatsu at home, I’m treating myself
shima613shima613shima613

singing and dancing at the preschool performance
to a New Year’s vacation to the subtropics of Japan, Okinawa! I leave on a plane tomorrow morning. Woohoo! I will be sure to post all the photos and stories from my trip when I return. But, until then…HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

shima614shima614
shima614

some of the youngest preschoolers playing instruments at the performance
shima615shima615
shima615

putting on a play about the mythological Japanese creature which is kind of like a cross between a frog and an elf called a "kappa."
shima616shima616
shima616

putting on a play that seemed like the Japanese version of one of my favorite children's stories about a Chinese boy with a very long name, "Tikki Tikki Tembo"
shima622shima622
shima622

making shimekazari for the New Year
shima623shima623
shima623

twisting the rice straw tightly
shima617shima617
shima617

assembling the gingerbread house with steady hands
shima618shima618
shima618

This gingerbread house wouldn't last though a storm
shima619shima619
shima619

another group's gingerbread house
shima620shima620
shima620

They even made a little Santa Claus going down the chimney.
shima621shima621
shima621

the completed gingerbread houses
shima625shima625
shima625

Christmas carolers!
shima626shima626
shima626

My completely succesful fruit cake!


29th December 2007

CUUUUUTIE PAAATOOTIE!!!! I LOVE YOU!!! Merry Christmas Jennie! I miss you... L
31st December 2007

jennie, you are amazing! and okinaaaaaawaaaaaaaaa! :P

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb