catching the sun


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Ehime » Matsuyama
October 29th 2006
Published: October 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

biking the ocean routebiking the ocean routebiking the ocean route

Port along 196 from Hojo to Imabari
This week was spent trying to get in as much sun time as possible before the cold weather hits, as all of my coworkers have been warning will happen soon. Until then I am enjoying the 70 degrees and sunny weather everyday. This week was pretty crazy, from Japanese lessons to my first class of 65 first grade students to my first traditional tea ceremony. The class with 65 first graders didn't accomplish too much, but I did manage to teach them the sesame street numbers song (numbers 11 and 12 were new for them). I also introduced them to the words big, small, fast and slow. The relay race these words belonged to, however, was much more of a failure. Thankfully the teachers kept smiles on their faces and seemed to appreciate the class anyways.
This new Elementary school (the last in my rotation of 7 total on Wednesdays) introduced me in a full school assembly, complete with school song and speeches from 6th graders with me as the guest of honor. It was crazy and completely unexpected. I gave a short speech in Japanese. Thankfully the Japanese class has come in handy with that one. I was able to
Amy and me at YawatahamaAmy and me at YawatahamaAmy and me at Yawatahama

How are you? I am fine, and you? How are you? I am fine, and you? How are you? I am HAPPY!!
tell them my likes, dislikes, and even describe the weather in MN right now. The rest of the day went smoothly and truthfully I can't wait to return.
The tea ceremony was an experience in itself. After watching the process in a video during my Japanese art history course at Olaf this past spring, seeing the real thing and becoming one of the guests was a true experience. The master is a retired Junior High Japanese teacher. She teaches the art of tea ceremony to students including some of the teachers I work with, so they invited me to show off their talents and get some practice. We started with a cleansing outside the traditional house, then changed our shoes for white socks. At the entrance hall we payed tribute to the wall hanging chosen by the master for her guests of the evening. Scootching around on our knees, my teacher friend and I bowed as we entered and stayed off to the side. A sister of one of the teachers had just recently returned after spending 5 years in London, so she was able to explain the processes to me in English and translate for the master. After tasting
Good night HojoGood night HojoGood night Hojo

The sun sets on another weekend in Hojo. (front porch of my apartment, overlooking the Seto Inland Sea)
some sweet bean sweets, I was able to have some amazing green tea. Eventually the sister and I switched to small stools as we lost feeling in our legs from kneeling for so long. At the end of the evening they invited me to whip up my own green tea and now I will be returning every Thursday night for my own lessons. It was actually a lot like making an expresso, with the additional precision and ornate rituals attatched. I am excited to go back.
This weekend was spent on more bike rides in Hojo, and a JET party in southern Ehime, Yawatahama. I finish the week exhausted once more. This coming week is shortened, so it shouldn't be too difficult. (Not that the work here ever is...)

Advertisement



29th October 2006

Change of seasons
Looking forward to Skypeing with you, have to figure if the change from daylight time here makes it 13 hours difference of 11 hours. Weather in Minnesota is cooler than there as we have had a number of hard frosts on the pumkin. Dad
1st November 2006

gorgeous sunsets!
hey mar - what a gorgeous sunset from your apartment! wow, lucky girl. and sounds like you are both mastering the language and being appreciated all over the place, being the guest of honor and such. the tea ceremony sounds fascinating too. i have seen that as well, of video or tv or something, and i always thought it would be such fun to see how much of the steps i would remember. i am sure you wowed them! enjoy that warm weather - it's getting chillier every day here! love you, miss you.

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb