Highland Games


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Chiba
October 8th 2006
Published: October 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Reading a pamphlet that Chie-san was showing me during The History of Tokyo, I noticed that on the 8th of October, there were Highland Games scheduled in my area. At my school, in fact. This, of course, meant that it was a sign from the Higher Beings, They Who Govern Social Lives, that I was supposed to go. Not wanting to anger them, I woke up this morning and it was a beautiful day, with no clouds and moderate temperatures. The Beings were taking no chances, knowing that I will cop out at a moment's notice and stay in my Hermit Cave. The games were sponsered by the Royal Bank of Scotland, and done by the Japan-Scotland Society. I went to the station and caught the 9:49am train which put me at campus around 10:30.

Once I was there, I really did have a good time. I was a little surprised by the lack of Caucasian people, but then it is Japan I'm in. I did get some Scottish people, so there were brogues and those make me happy. I also got to hear Japanese with a Scottish accent. The games began with a parade of sorts, about 30 bagpipers walking around the grounds piping and some snare drummers thrown in. The whole schedule of events ran concurrently, with dance competitions for men and women, piping and drumming contests, and sports going at the same time. I mostly watched the sports, specifically Putting the Stane, Weight Over Bar, and Caber Toss. All manly pursuits that I highly encourage all men to do, in kilts. Because kilts are love. I brake for men in kilts. Seriously, there were kilts everywhere. I really wished I had had one with me, because I would have worn it with pride. Ok, now that I've done the obligatory plug, the Highland Dancing competition was fun too - I'd love to learn how to do it.

As well as those events, they had food, alcohol (it IS Scottish Games) and gifts. I partook of all three, for the sake of having the whole experience. I met up with Pat there, who was a doll for going with me. It was terribly windy so the poor guy was trying to deal with his contacts all day. He tried a draft ale, and I had Jago's Vanilla Liquer, which was quite tasty. I also tried some Scotch Broth, and some chocolate-whisky brownies. The whisky wasn't an option, it was a requirement. I also had some haggis, which wasn't really the way it was supposed to taste but it would be hard to do it properly in Japan when meat in general is so expensive. As for gifts, I purchased some shortbread for me that is 28% butter, and some sort of dessert for my okasan.

Also, today I must have been unusually attractive, since I had three separate guys try to pick me up. One was American and looked like he belonged in the Marines, one was Japanese, and one was Brazilian. I have to wonder at this strange habit I have of overcoming improbable odds. First the French guy, and then I get hit on by a Brazilian guy, in Japan, in English, at Scottish Highland Games, really stereotypically. If you want details, you'll have to email me and ask, because they're hilarious.

After the games, I came home and studied, but that was quite an experience.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Caber TossCaber Toss
Caber Toss

Possibly the best sport ever invented, and this guy was the best one I saw today.


Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb