A virtual tour!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Chiba
September 8th 2006
Published: September 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

As promised, the pictures I have taken are now on my computer and so are posted here. Essentially it's a tour from the train station to the house I am at, and if you look at it backwards, you have my route to the station from the house. So please enjoy it. Or not, whatever floats your boat.

On the downside of today, my host mother asked me to not use my towel more than once. I think this is slightly odd. I am not allowed to use my bath towel more than once at a time, even if I hang it up to dry. This bothers me for 2 reasons - number one, I don't feel comfortable using her things. But since she doesn't feel comfortable with my using the same towel, and it's her house, I think Okasan wins. But number two is reduction in my comfort level. That towel is soft and fluffy and of a fabric I picked out in the color I wanted. It's one of the little reminders of home, something tangible that I know. So there's that to think on.

Tonight I had yakisoba, which was delicious. I also found out that
My futon, unfoldedMy futon, unfoldedMy futon, unfolded

A foot, for size scaling.
Kikosama had a boy, whose naming ceremony will be on the 12th, I believe.

This weekend is going to be busy because I have an interview I am scheduled for at 3 pm, then the day before, Saturday, I have a welcome party hosted by my Okasan. The interview will be in Harajuku and I'm meeting up with some people there too so it should be all good.


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

After the entrance ceremonyAfter the entrance ceremony
After the entrance ceremony

A lot of people just sat around waiting for the next class to begin.
The morning Makuhari group!The morning Makuhari group!
The morning Makuhari group!

There's this really cute old man who we think is a janitor. Every time he sees us he says "Hello" in English and tries really hard to talk to us.
View from the top of the Sumitomo Building, where the IES Center isView from the top of the Sumitomo Building, where the IES Center is
View from the top of the Sumitomo Building, where the IES Center is

We think they collect samples of our DNA and splice it with that of Japanese people in order to create the ideal Borg.
View from the top of the Sumitomo Building, where the IES Center isView from the top of the Sumitomo Building, where the IES Center is
View from the top of the Sumitomo Building, where the IES Center is

In case you're wondering, the view is of Makuhari city.


Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb