Week One!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Chiba
March 25th 2008
Published: March 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Dancing Elvis's 35 secs
Okay so technically it hasn't been exactly one week yet but since I'm living in the future by the time anybody reads this it should be spot on. It has been roughly one week since I left the bottom bunk on Taylor Ave for the great wide open. I woke up with a wicked cold on Wednesday which made me really really popular on the plane, especially because I was sitting in the direct middle of the entire aircraft. My first night in Japan was spent in Narita trying to cope with being sick and wondering if the television I was watching was a direct result of the pain medication I took or there really was a show with an Asian host who had a bright blonde pompador?

On friday I got to my apartment which is huge; I have an 7 tatami mat room which is quite large and a mat on the floor for sleeping. My roommates are nice, although I have not really seen all that much of them.

Saturday I went out to explore my neighborhood, which I love! Its a pretty happening place and I believe Japans only Ikea is a few blocks away,
KaraokeKaraokeKaraoke

You pay for a little room for you and your friends and get 2 hours and unlimited drinks!
although I can't tell because the sign with the arrow points directly into a large building which does not contain the Ikea. There is also a huge Panchinko parlor which is kind of like american slots but since gambling is illegal here you collect your balls, trade them for a prize and then walk down some shady back alley to exchange the prize for gold or cash. Or so I've been told. There is a beautiful river with cool bridges that cuts through town and I've seen a few shrines. Noodle shops are literally everywhere, which is good because I went food shopping the other day and walked out with a random assortment of produce and a package of rolls, as I had no f*&^ing clue what anything else was. I also hit up the Daiso (100 yen store) which was productive and hilarious at once. I especially liked the selection of bras!

Saturday night I met up with Carson for one of her friends birthdays dinner. We went into Shibuya; which if you've seen Lost in Translation is where the huge street crossing is. Its in the heart of downtown Tokyo and is in general one of the
Meiji-JinguMeiji-JinguMeiji-Jingu

Carson, in front of casks of wine.
most crowded places I've ever been. Ever street here is blinding with huge lit up billboards but that section of Shibuya is pretty intense. After dinner we went out for karaoke, which I've got to admit is AWESOME!!! I learned an important lesson on our way to karaoke about touching in Japanese culture; as in it is not done, especially to strangers. I helped a drunk guy lunge onto the train and had to spend the next 15 minutes with him patting my head and smiling really closely at me. The thing is, there are a LOT of drunk people roaming the streets here after work. Mostly all salarymen and virtually all of the younger generation. We saw an interesting street fight, it was the most civil fight I've ever witnessed. A punch was thrown and then the two parties stood back and talked about it for a few moments and then went their seperate ways.

Sunday, Carson and I traveled to Harajuku for a little street performing and site seeing. It is also super crowded, but I think it might just be on Sundays. We went to the Meiji-Jingu shrine which was insanely beautiful. It is long walk through a lush forested area with huge torii. We saw a baby being blessed and a wedding party getting their pictures taken. The bridal outfit was beautiful and the rest of the women were wearing kimono. When we left the shrine we wondered down the street hoping to see some Harajuku girls but what I saw instead was one of the greatest things I've ever seen. There were two rival gangs of dancing Elvis impersonators. Like big groups of them, dressed in black leather with pompadors and cutting a rug to the oldies.

For the past couple of days I've been training for work which is going well but isn't all that remarkable. This weekend I'm hoping to do a bit more exploring and I'm planning a trip to Kyoto for Golden Week!


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Shrine wishesShrine wishes
Shrine wishes

You write down your wish and hang them up under the beautiful tree and on certain holiday the priest come out and burn them; then they are supposed to come true.


25th March 2008

Looks like you've arrived!
The photos are really good and pretty; the video was comical; the best...ever! "Girl that do nail at nail salon for ten dolla" also have blonde hair - always mezmerizes me. Missing you and happy you are doing well. Stay healthy chick and stay in touch. Best...

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb