Orientation


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Chiba
September 6th 2007
Published: September 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone!

Today is our second day of Orientation, my third day here in Japan. In theory we're all getting to know each other and getting ready for our schooling and such. I've kinda missed out on a great deal of that. Why is that? Well, I've been getting a bit more acquainted with being sick. The good news is that Japanese people are very nice, so they let me skip the lectures to pass out in my room, and later a couple of strangers found me in the fifth floor bathroom with a nose bleed and kindly went to find my group leader. I would make them thank you cookies, but it's not quite convenient. I've said "domo arigatou gozaimasu" quite a bit.

Anyway, after twenty minutes of my nose gushing (it was only 15 when the nice girls assisted me) my leader arrived and decided that since it hadn't stopped, and it was flowing so fast it came out both nostrils and my mouth (ewww!) it might be time to go to the hospital. Thankfully it slowed down and I was able to take a taxi ride to the emergency room. I think it stopped by the time we arrived (which would have made it last somewhere between 30-40 minutes. Honestly, it could have been more. I didn't pull out my clock until it had been bleeding for awhile, so I'm not even certain where it started.) Upon arrival the nice doctor's said they couldn't do much. Maybe I should go to a different emergency room, hmm? Well, they didn't ask me how bad it was bleeding, else I would have told them it was pretty much finished, so they thought it might be worse than it was, and I got to ride in an ambulance to the Chiba University hospital, which is apparently the most famous in this prefecture, to see a nose doctor. They let me ride in a wheel chair up to see him. He looked in my nose (wasn't that awkward) and declared that the bleeding had stopped completely, that there really was no way for him to figure out the cause, and that I should visit a doctor the next day to look into it, maybe get an ex ray and a blood clot test.

Best news about all this? My insurance will cover everything ^_^

Anyway, I am still sick. I was sick in America, too. But I am going to the doctor around 3 (which means I'm missing the tour of my school) and hopefully I will get some medicine. My head is very stuffy right now. I get dizzy if I stand up too long. It's obnoxious. I can't read and I'm tired all the time. I have decided to look at this from a more positive approach. Such as, how else would I have seen the Japanese health system at work? I can now tell my friends that it does not, in fact, have universal health care. However, because we were there so late (I dunno, 7 or 8 pm) they were not able to bill us, and we will have to send something in to get the bill. My leader person, Shin-san, is helping me with that. He also lost my cell phone at some point. I'll have to talk to him about that, I was thinking either after my individual meeting for classes or right before I go to the doctor's.

He said that at least now my trip can only go upwards. I don't know how to explain that I'm okay with where it is. I know this could honestly suck, but the extra sleep helped me get over jet lag and it's quite hot outside (only 80 some odd degrees, but frankly, way too muggy) and this lets me avoid it a bit.

Oh! We're going to have a Typhoon tonight! I'll try to take pictures. I haven't taken many pictures, because I haven't done much, but I will try to remedy that.

Sadly, I haven't made a lot of friends. Everyone now has their cliques forming up and I'm kinda a loner. I kinda wanted to be a loner to start with, but that was because I hate small talk. Now I want someone to hang out with. Not going on all of the trips is getting in the way of that. But I'm just thinking, I have to see the doctor soon. I have to sleep because I don't want to pass out. (No, I don't think I'd actually pass out, but I feel like I'd actually pass out). Yesterday, classes were very hard to sit through. I was just so stuffy, so I went and napped. Then I missed the scavenger hunt, then I didn't go out with other people because I was at the hospital, then in my bed sleeping. Honestly, I lost a fair amount of blood. I was dizzy beforehand, I wouldn't be surprised if it made it worse. The good news is, Japan has real doctors. And anti-biotics. And insurance will cover it. Hurah!

To all those concerned: I really am okay. Yes, I'm sick, but I really, really am okay. I had to convince my host mom when I talked to her yesterday. "Daijyobu, daijyobu" I don't think she believed me. But by the time I see her I'll be fine.

Anyway, I am for sure taking Japanese four three hours a day, four days a week. I will also be in a Japanese economics class, and a history of Tokyo class. Each of those is one day a week, for like 2-3 hours. I will be having a meeting soon to discuss these, and I will ask to get into a fourth class, Japanese politics. Keep in mind, only the language class will help me with credits, the rest don't add up to enough to be worth a full unit, so they're just for fun. But in case I don't meet a lot of friends, I want to be able to stay busy. I actually just want to stay busy. I'm not going to be working! It's exciting. It's like I just gave myself an extra 20 hours a week. I might as well fill them appropriately.

Anyway, I guess that's all for the moment. I don't have regular internet while we're here at the training center. I will once I get to my dorm, which I think is this weekend. I'll prolly do many updates as I go along. I hope everyone is doing well!

Lynda

Advertisement



7th September 2007

Wish I was there...
See this is why when you go back there you have to take us. ::Wink wink:: xDDD I know your experiences so far seem... boring, but to me I find it all exciting. I'm wierd like that. Thinking everything changes when you get to another country. >>; Should of seen me in Canada... Wikipedia says they have universal health care. It says that some things are free, some other things are covered by national health care which you pay into... but you're also not native. So you must pay! D: You must take many pictures of everything... the view, your place, random ppl you see, ppl you know, everything... I want to see it all. Plus with all your extra time you can go on trips to crazy places around the city and take photos of them! ^^ Luckly you're not male or else they might think you're a horny American... .____.; Have fun with the typhoon...

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb