Chiba-minato


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Chiba
March 16th 2007
Published: March 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

SunriseSunriseSunrise

View from my hotel room
2 of my juniors and I were invited by Mitsui Chemicals to attend an international symposium in Kazusa Akademia Hall. (Refer to my previous post on the symposium.) Mitsui Chemicals was very kind and it arranged the Okura Chiba Hotel as our accomodation for 3 nights (13th, 14th and 15th March). The hotel was situated in Chiba City near Chiba-minato (Chiba harbour).

On the morning of 15th March, I woke up earlier than expected. Since I still had 1 more hour before meeting my friends for breakfast, I decided to go out for a stroll. I explored the area around the hotel. I saw the Chiba City Hall, Chiba police station, Chiba Central Post Office, Chiba Prefecture Art Museum and some other municipal buildings. I also saw the unique suspended monorail. (It was my first time seeing a suspended monorail in person!) I spent some time in the Chiba City Park, a very nice and tidy park with one blooming sakura tree and several impressive flower beds.

Chiba City is a very industrialised city, and I saw many factories, oil tanks, chimneys, cranes, trucks, etc. But the city was relatively quiet and peaceful compared to downtown Tokyo. Traffic was light, and there were very few people walking along the streets. After walking for 1 hour, I made my way back to my hotel for breakfast. Initially I wanted to explore Chiba Harbour Park as well, but in the end I didn't due to lack of time.

The symposium was held on 14th and 15th March. Next morning (16th Mar), as we left Chiba, we tried the suspended monorail. The monorail ride was fun! As the monorail moved, I felt the whole train was floating because there was nothing underneath the train. It was really an interesting experience!


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Chiba City ParkChiba City Park
Chiba City Park

A monument at the park entrance
Chiba City Park 2Chiba City Park 2
Chiba City Park 2

A blooming sakura tree! (Only one tree is blooming, the rest have not bloomed yet.)
Chiba City Park 3Chiba City Park 3
Chiba City Park 3

Impressive flower displays
Chiba City Park 4Chiba City Park 4
Chiba City Park 4

I like this picture
Chiba City Park 5Chiba City Park 5
Chiba City Park 5

Interesting sculpture
Chiba harbourChiba harbour
Chiba harbour

View from the hotel


Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0697s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb