Canadian Asses, Japanese Pants


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Aichi
August 6th 2006
Published: August 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The road to getting settled is coming along nicely for me in Hekinan, Japan. More and more, I'm starting to feel at home. I've finally found and labelled a map of the city. You'd think such a task should be simple, but alas it was not. First finding a decent map and then figuring out where I am and where everything else is when all the writing is in Japanese was actually much more difficult than one might think. With the mission now accomplished, I have found a new shopping mall, the roads to Nishio and Handa (two other cities where I will be teaching), a quicker route to Figaro's (the bar), my orthodontist's office, and a hospital in the event I ever need medical services (knock on wood).

So... let's discuss this new shopping mall experience, shall we? Before leaving Canada, I wanted to prepare myself as best I could. In large part, for me, that meant packing all of the essentials. So I talked with some very helpful people about their experiences in Japan. They all told me that I should take some professional clothing or something light for the sweltering summers, but not to worry too much, as "the shopping in Japan is GREAT"! I should mention here that the people who gave me the most advice about Japan were Aubrey, Cam, and Mark. Note that all of the listed names are of males... Kara's mistake - trusting the advice of three males on shopping. Now don't get me wrong gentlemen, I appreciate all of the advice you gave very much (thank you, thank you, thank you). However, perhaps while you were in Japan, you did not notice the difference in body make-up between Japanese and Canadian women (which I'm sure your wives all appreciated greatly). The fact is, Canadian women have asses; in the case of some, they have big asses, myself included. Japanese women, on the other hand, not so much. As many of us know, the Japanese are generally a smaller people than us giant Westerners. This all equates to a very difficult and demoralizing first shopping trip in Japan. To give a few examples of the difficulties I encoutered yesterday... Empire waists on the tanktops came to about my armpits. Long blouses and sweaters hardly covered my torso. Only the largest sizes of pants would fit over my ass and hips, and even then, they look like flood pants on me! Are the fashions awesome? Yes... gentlemen, you were right on that one. Will they fit a Canadian girl? I will admit that after several hours of ego-crushing shopping, I was able to purchase a pair of capris and two tops. I suppose shopping will test a whole new level of patience. Now I know.

On a less personal note, I took in Anjo's Tanabata Festival today! About twelve of us went, mostly ACC staff. The festival has amazing decorations and streets upon streets of kiosks and food stands. We saw some traditional drummers and got to do a little drumming ourselves, and some awesome Japanese dancers. There was a lot to see and the vendor food was actually quite tasty. With the good company to boot, it was a grand day!




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Tanabata Festival3Tanabata Festival3
Tanabata Festival3

The Drummers as they make their way through the crowded streets.
Tanabata Festival4Tanabata Festival4
Tanabata Festival4

The Drummers doin' their drummin'!
Tanabata Festival5Tanabata Festival5
Tanabata Festival5

Beetles! That's right beetles! To buy and take home as a nice pet for your children. Isn't that nice?
Tanabata Festival6Tanabata Festival6
Tanabata Festival6

The Dancers! This is the only picture that I got of the dancers, as my camera battery ran out. They were all awesome though!
The Dancer!The Dancer!
The Dancer!

I'm just trying to recreate for you a little of the dancing that I didn't get any pictures of at the festival.
Funny sign #1Funny sign #1
Funny sign #1

I'd heard about these English signage mishaps... just thought they should be shared.


7th August 2006

Canadian Asses; Japanese Pants
Sorry Kara, I didn't think your ass was that big. If you like, I can go over to Blooming Gals and have them ship you some duds!
7th August 2006

Thanks, but no thanks
Surely you jest, but in Japan, that`s likely where I`ll find what I need! You`d be surprised how many times I got excited about clothes that would fit me, only to find myself in the maternity section! Like I say... now I know.
7th August 2006

The Dancer picture
Hi Kara, so glad to hear you made it there safe. in the picture where you are wearing such a cute silk outfit and dancing with the fan - is that your apartment in the background? How are your living quarters?
8th August 2006

My homestay
Hi Auntie Laura! The picture is taken in my home. I am staying in a house with a homestay. A 56 year old Japanese woman who is just wonderful. We have very different working schedules so we both have a lot of time and space to ourselves, but we also have each other`s companionship once in a while too, usually for an hour or so at night before bed. She gets to practice her English, and I have a great Japanese resource person. It`s working out wonderfully!
8th August 2006

I think you have a nice bum
Hi Kara, Just trying to build up your self confidence. I suppose you are right on the clothes thing and yes, being guys, we no doubt didn't consider your assets in terms of shopping. If you like, I can send you some stuff from the lost and found in the gym - Stew would be supportive. I guess you probably never considered how much we will be looking at your butt when you return and how many jokes this will bring about when you are brave enough to sit down with us at the coffee table! Keep up the blog, as this really is a great and you are a very entertaining writer!
10th August 2006

Embrace the attributes
Half empty: I can't fit into pants. Half full: There's always the school's Sumo Wrestling team.
17th August 2006

Kara got junk in the trunk!
Hey girl, I was decorating my room and thought that I would finally read your blog. May I say a deep thank-you for the very colourful and humorous descriptions of your Japanense excursions.
22nd August 2006

but some shoes will fitt
Hi kara, first of all your writings are quit amusing to read. I had lots of inner laughs for sure. I can still mention you in my mind. And how you described the clothes fitting on you made my laugh turn into a big smile on the face. There is only one option and I still know you can, since we did it once around the lake/park in Regina: Running. Sure thing you can find some sport shoes and sure thing you can run on them. Above all it'll make you feel happy for the rest of the day.... Talk to you soon kara, greetings from the dutchy

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0292s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb