Sumbawa


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia
January 5th 2008
Published: January 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

recently arrived in Sumbawarecently arrived in Sumbawarecently arrived in Sumbawa

A guy riding his vespa from Java pulled over to have his photo taken with me!
I left Kuta, Lombok at 6am and arrived at Utan, Sumbawa at 6pm. I have no idea how many kilometer or miles that was but it was definitely too many. I'm taking a day or maybe two to recuperate here in Sumbawa Besar, the regional capital. I got off the ferry and started to pedal my way to Utan when a motorcycle with two guys from Java waved my over and asked to have their photo taken with me. Right then Renaud, a french surfer I'd met while I was living in Areguling happened to pass by and stopped to say 'hello'. Strange enough circumstances and coincidences to put me in a good mood for Sumbawa. When I reached the main road I stopped at a warung (little restaurant) for a bite to eat and right then it started to pour. Both times I'd stopped to eat that day is exactly when it started to rain.

In Lombok I was fortunate enough to befriend Bapak Am. When I asked him to recommend someplace to sleep in Utan he told me I should find his brother, the "Kepala Cemat" (district leader). I spent my first night in Utan at
my first stop in Sumbawamy first stop in Sumbawamy first stop in Sumbawa

me with the kepala cemat's family.
the Kepala Cemat's House. Bapak Tarunawan and his family were wonderful; taking me in as one of the family. I slept like a baby and was fed like a king! Such good food! Furthermore Bapak Tarunawan has given me a list of his friends, the leaders of other districts to the east which I will be biking through for the next few days while I make my way to Hu'u and Lakey Beach to try out the many waves which break in the area.

The roads in Sumbawa are relatively flat (so far) and quiet. It has been very pleasant biking along the main highway which often runs parallel to the north coast. The result being that most of the coast with swell expose is nearly inaccessible. Hopefully I'll make a little detour in the next few days and explore a little before rejoining the mainstream surfers at Lakey.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.228s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb