Jungle Journey


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Sumatra » Lake Maninjau
October 7th 2005
Published: October 10th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Ok, now things start getting exciting.
So I find myself a guide in Bukittinggi, and the next day we head off into the jungle. Now I'm having fun.
The jungle was interesting and I was introduced to many of my favourite spices in their native habitat: Cinnamon, Cardamom and Lemon Grass. But what was truly amazing is walking through the rice paddies, with the locals working the fields, by hand and by buffalo. I knew about this before, but being there is everything, seeing people living this life style, it was really something else. I felt like my heart has really been opened to how these people live.
The highlight was the view from Lawang Top. Perched high above Lake Maninjau, surrounded by mountains I suddenly felt very at home in the world, connected and slightly overwhelmed by it all. The view of the lake was spectacular, and I had second thoughts about trying to cycle round it!
We arrived at our destination as it started to rain. A homestay in the jungle. I relaxing in the hammock watching the mountains sway in and out of the clouds, until eventually the sun set, in spectacular jungle fashion.
The next morning I was awoken by a strange cocktail of jungle sounds mixed with prayers broadcast from the mosques in the village below.
Breakfast consisted of best banana pancake I have every had, a complex mixture of bananas, peanuts and jungle spices folded together, followed by 2 cups of thick coffee. The coffee here is worth a mention. They make it with the grounds in, ensure that you coffee had body AND texture. But it is good, for the first time I have been able to drink my coffee black.

Sorry - No photos now, the connection here is abit dodgy. While put some up as soon as possible.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Jungle Beer!Jungle Beer!
Jungle Beer!

Eric (my guide) and Me


11th October 2005

Amazing...I'm envious
Jungle experience with good food, hammock and spices. Keep the address I want to visit!
29th October 2005

Awesome!
...

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb