November 2015 . MONTHLY HIGHLIGHTS


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java
January 16th 2016
Published: January 16th 2016
Edit Blog Post

*Celebrated American Thanksgiving

*Started training for a half marathon which I’ll run at the end of February in Singapore. A group of us will be racing. Some are registered for the 5km, 10km or half marathon. I’ve always wanted to run a half marathon and I am excited to do it!

*Grades 10-12 Volleyball Season Came To An End

*Grades 1 and 2 After school Sports Program Ended Too

*Continue to play Ultimate Frisbee Sunday afternoons

*Took a recertification First Aid Course –What you would do in NA in an emergency would look different here so we must modify our procedures here. For example, you will get a victim to the hospital faster if you drive them yourself or put them in a taxi than if you would call an ambulance…..

*I accompanied the Grade 10 class for three days on their annual retreat. Each year each grade level goes away to various locations for half a week to further learn and grow.

*The social outreach committee , a student council group I supervise, organized another community event. This time we took a group of kids from a poor village to SeaWorld – for most it was their very first time doing anything like this. Since regulations are different here, there were touch tanks people could interact with – turtles, reef sharks, and sting rays.

*Decorated my apartment for Christmas

*The music department hosted a bunch of mini concerts at a local coffee shop every Friday evening leading up to Christmas.

*Continuing to enjoy the luxury of going to the movies, ordering food, having it served to you as you sit in reclining lazy boy chairs, provided with fresh pillows and blankets as you enjoy watching your movie. Definitely one of my favorite things to do here.

*Each year Grade 10 students who take the Food Technology course at our school cook for teachers of their choice. They create the invites; interview us about what our ideal dining experience would be, to the kinds of cuisines we’d prefer etc. My friend and I were selected again and this year the students chose to do a Greek themed dinner. I was really looking forward to this and the students were talking it up to me for weeks leading up to the event, but that morning I came down with a bad flu. I was so disappointed but was glad a different friend could take my place so that the students’ hard work wouldn’t go to waste.

*I finally found some glass containers I was excited about to build my terrariums in. It worked well but one succulent plant didn’t last for too long as it died about two weeks later for whatever reason.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 18; dbt: 0.0115s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb