AUGUST . SEPTEMBER . OCTOBER . 2015 HIGHLIGHTS


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java
October 24th 2015
Published: October 24th 2015
Edit Blog Post

*New construction around town meaning new restaurants to try and coffee shops to work at!

*School started up again – teaching the most classes that I have yet during my time here in Indo. It makes for a super busy schedule. I am still coaching and have practices/games 4-5 times a week. The team is looking very strong this year. I was asked to coach the guys team instead this season, but with everything that I have built up over the past few years with the girls program, I wanted to carry the momentum and at the point when was asked to consider the switch, I had already mapped out my first two weeks with the girls team. In the end, this decision proved to be the best choice.

*I have another intern working under me for this semester before she heads off to school starting January.

*Headed downtown Jakarta to celebrate some birthdays – great restaurant that overlooks the whole city. Awesome view at night.

*We had our annual Athletics Day – it’s a school wide event where we host a day for Senior School and then another one for Junior School as well. Each year there are parents and teacher relay events. Again I participated, and we made it to the podium! This event is definitely one of my favorite days of the year.

*Since there are mainly Canadian families here and no more young married and singles, I still wanted to celebrate Canadian Thanksgiving without it going uncelebrated. Before we went on our week long October break, it was my turn to cook for dinner club. I decided I would cook a mini thanksgiving meal in honor of the occasion. Turkeys are super expensive to buy so instead I prepared some marinated chicken instead. Mash potatoes, stuffing, gravy etc. were still on the menu for the evening. I enjoyed looking up recipes based on the ingredients I can get here and thinking through the table setting as well. My friend and I did a quick shopping trip to IKEA to get the last few items I needed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0211s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb