A New Beginning


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java
August 17th 2014
Published: August 17th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I am loving my new apartment. The four days after I returned from Tanzania I was able to settle in my new place before my parents came. No more smoking neighbors and I gained more square feet. When the school repainted, they painted the walls white which typically isn’t done as they go for more of a yellow hue. I was pumped to see that everything looked so fresh and clean in addition to making it nice and bright because of the colour choice. I had my helper come in while I was still away on vacation in Africa to clean the apartment before I moved in. When my parents were here my dad helped out with installing shelving and hanging pictures on the walls – it was great.

Over the summer while I was in Tanzania and Malaysia, I parked my new ride at a colleagues place. At the end of the year I bought a bike off from one of the teachers who were moving away. I finally got it back on the first day of school and am enjoying my new commute to work! Little by little I am learning what it means to drive here [i.e. no shoulder checks]. The year is off to a great start – the volleyball season is already underway with tryouts as well as taking on new responsibilities this year . Dinner club has also started. We have more people who joined us this year….making the group around a dozen people! We have split up into two smaller groups – rotating people around. For instance I always cook for the same people every other week BUT I eat with a different set of people each night. It’s worked out really well. Yesterday morning I renewed my motorbike license and today filled it with gas for the first time! It only costs me roughly $2.70 for a full tank of gas, lasting me about 2 weeks…..not bad 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb