West Java Day 1: Back to Year 0 in the Hidden Paradise


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java
January 30th 2012
Published: January 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Every year, typically my husband (R) and I will do something special for our wedding anniversary. Year 1 – we went diving in Bunaken: one of world’s most amazing dive sites. Year 2 – went backpacking to Osaka and Hokkaido in Japan; where we saw the most beautiful flower fields in places that most people don’t even know exist in this world. Year 3 – we went to a secluded beach in Belitung; which is a dead ringer to Seychelles but much value for money. And for Year 4 – we decided to go back to where we spend our Year 0; a.k.a. going back to where we had our honeymoon the first time *smile*

Value for money has always been my priority. But of course, money was tighter back then as we just started our careers and just started our life together. Hence we selected a low key place for our honeymoon. We chose a small resort in Garut, West Java, about 5 hours drive from Jakarta. ( I’m not going to mentioned the exact name because this is not a promotion. But if anyone interested to know where it is, just message me.) It charmed me with the overwater villa above a small lake, gorgeous sunrise and fresh + breezy air. Gosh, how I missed fresh air. Anyone living in big cities would understand how I feel.

But apparently, some things have changed since 4 years ago also. For one, the price has increased significantly. Previously we can get the biggest room for 2 nights for 235 USD (all inclusive with 3 meals & spa); now we can only afford the medium size room for double the price with less comprehensive package. Well, ok. Let’s just consider ourselves contributing to the local tourism industry.

They really do know how to build the moment, don’t they? Because you wouldn’t expect it from the small signboard outside that you’re going to enter something above average. The small unpaved road leads you to a small lake, and surrounding the lake are the overwater chalets. Well, of course it’s not Maldives. There’s no aquamarine water and pretty corals awaits you at the bottom. But they do have LOTS and LOTS of fishes. You can also paddle your small boat around the lake - which we actually did in the afternoon! Gosh, I'm really not meant for a cruise am I? I got sea sick even though the rock is very gentle.

To make the location even secluded, it is surrounded by high bamboos; in case anyone needs to hide from papparazzi *wink* It's pretty and romantic during the day. But I got say, it looks pretty scary at night ha ha... Who knows what will jump at you from the dark??

The room is cozy, with 4 walls made out of bamboo woven and wood flooring. But what wowed me is the balcony, as the view outside is just breathtaking. You just want to spend hours and hours there and enjoy each other’s company. It is directly facing the water; where the hungry fishes will just munch anything you gave them. Seems like no one ever tried to hooked them or something, because they are afraid of human at all. R went down to the water and sprinkles some food to the fishes, and of course he’s surrounded in no time.

At night we had a candle light dinner over the lake. It’s basically a raft with rooftop which has been fixed with stilts so we won’t float away into the darkness. They put many candles & lantern to make it more romantic. Four years ago we had similar setup. But there were full moon on the sky, and it was dreamy. But now? Well, after 4 years I think we just got more realistic ha ha… It was COLD. Like really cold. And it’s not so romantic anymore because several people just hang around at their balcony, and we can hear each other’s talking from where we had our dinner. So it’s more of like a “stranded” in the middle of the lake feel, rather than romantic ha ha….

We were actually more excited watching Minute to Win It on TV, as we cuddle up in our four poster princess bed ha ha… (years before, they don’t have TV in room). As I’m half asleep in my husband’s hug – I think to myself: “I don’t know what I did to deserve him & his love, but I’ll take it…” And I fell asleep with a big smile.

Coming up tomorrow: sunrise pictures, walk on the country side, spa, picture session??? Stay tune!

For more of my pictures, see here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/ariyanti_p/

250911


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.22s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 25; qc: 131; dbt: 0.1279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb