The next edition


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java » Surabaya
November 2nd 2005
Published: November 2nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Just thought I'd get a new folder happening as the other one was a bit full. Just a couple of snaps of Arli's departure. Currently on hols for a week so will definitely update after that as I will be seeing a bit more of the countryside.


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Arli has gone :(Arli has gone :(
Arli has gone :(

Yes. My aussie companion has left me here alone. Here is quite a funny photo of Arli having a breakdown when she realises everything won't fit in her suitcase.
Arli and Iput about to leaveArli and Iput about to leave
Arli and Iput about to leave

Yes, here they are at Surabaya airport waiting to board.
TrawasTrawas
Trawas

After an hour and a half on a motorbike I was in Trawas. Very cool temps and lovely views. Here is me (and the view) from my hotel.
Air PanasAir Panas
Air Panas

This means hot water. Here is a spa that is natural hot spring water. I am an idiot and forgot my swimmers but very nice view anyway.
Air terjunAir terjun
Air terjun

This means 'waterfall'. Guess you've figured out by now that the indo word for water is 'air'. Pronounced 'aaa-ear'. Still in Trawas. Lovely.
Ujank and the beastUjank and the beast
Ujank and the beast

Ok so Ujank's bike is 125cc. Going up and down mountains between Trawas and Batu (our next destination) was a little troublesome but we made it. Here is the bike and Ujank looking like the lone ranger after buying bensin (petrol).
Malang water parkMalang water park
Malang water park

Went to this water park (again without swimmers) and made the boys paddle me around in this peddle boat shaped like a swan. Very funny. I'm sure all the locals thought that I thought I was the queen of Sheba as I was waving and smiling to everyone.
Way up high.....Way up high.....
Way up high.....

Here is a view from a hillside cafe in Batu. We stopped and ate jagung bakar (burnt corn). VERY YUMMY!
Just some nice sceneryJust some nice scenery
Just some nice scenery

From the ride from Trawas to Batu/Malang.
Ok. One more scenery shotOk. One more scenery shot
Ok. One more scenery shot

This will end it. My batteries ran out in Malang so I didn't get much stuff there. Here is the view from our hotel in Trawas. Nice volcano.
Bedroom beforeBedroom before
Bedroom before

Hi. Moved house and did some renovations. Here is my bedroom before...
Bedroom afterBedroom after
Bedroom after

And here it is after. I like red.
Ruang tamuRuang tamu
Ruang tamu

This is the front room - guest room - before...
Guest room afterGuest room after
Guest room after

I like red.
Kitchen afterKitchen after
Kitchen after

Yeah, I ripped down the lovely teddy bear frieze that they had in the kitchen.
Front of houseFront of house
Front of house

Only in Indonesia would they tile the front of a house blue
The Opera HouseThe Opera House
The Opera House

Enough of the house shots eh? So here is a restaurant in Surabaya that has ripped off Jorn Utzon's design.


Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0815s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb