Tanah Lot


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali
June 21st 2007
Published: June 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Temple1Temple1Temple1

This was the temple that I had to wash my face and hair, only to find it closed to the public
80% of the Bali's population are Hindu. On our tour we went to see many different temples. This was one of the most unusal as their wasnt many actual temples and of the few that where there, you couldn't get access to most of them.
The one thing about the place that I liked was the spectaular scenery. The rocks and the water was also popular with the local tourists. Maybe they are sick of all those sandy beaches and enjoy the danger of slipy seeweed covered rocks. Never asked.
At one of the temples, I had to wash my face wash three times with the water from a nearby spring and put flower petals on my forhead to get access. A small donation was also required. Then I walked round the corner to find that the place was closed to tourists.
I did get to walk across the arched causeway to see the small temple in most of the pictures. however on the way some guy was siting there with a huge, huge snake that was a lot bigger than him. Took a wide detour and was hoping that he bought it with him and that there was not any more lying about.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Temple8Temple8
Temple8

The sign at one of the tourists stalls outside the temple. It reminded me of a term Ali G always uses.


Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0626s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb