Friday in Bali


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Ubud
November 26th 2010
Published: November 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well, it's Friday afternoon here in Bali, and I've finally found a moment to sit at the computer and update this blog. We are having an amazing time and feel so fortunate to be on this trip with a wonderful group of women. It is hotter than Hades here .. Mona is handling it quite well, but I feel like I'm in a constant hot flash. I can't complain though as I hear it's been a wee bit chilly in Calgary since we left.

Since Mona updated this last ...

Let me tell you a little about our resort, the Kumara Sakti in Ubud. It's a very private, gated resort with only 12 suites so our group is occupying the entire resort. It is built down a hillside so lots of stairs. Mona's and my room is at the bottom, so I said they must have given that to us because they think we're so fit ... but Mona burst my bubble by saying it's probably because they think we need the exercise. Our room is really nice and very private. We have our own patio which overlooks the rice fields. Even our shower is glass to the outside, so you feel like you are outside. I was a little worried about the privacy factor ... but think I'm only scaring the frogs! LOL The staff are fantastic and after the first day, know us all by name. We don't even lock our rooms because there's nothing to worry about. Each night we are lulled to sleep by the songs of the bullfrogs and awake each morning to the roosters crowing. Although there are a couple of them that I think are a little challenged ... because they crow all day long ... don't seem to understand the concept of sunrise.

On Tuesday, we paid an early morning visit to the Ubud market. Talk about one stop shopping ... you can buy anything from live animals, vegetables, fruit, flowers, clothing, art, furniture ... you name it. It opens at 5 a.m. every morning and it's amazing to see the vendors arrive with all their goods. They literally carry their tables on top of their heads, loaded down with everything they're trying to sell. The Balinese are incredibly hard workers and yet have such a sweet and positive disposition ... very polite. They travel to the market every day to purchase the food they will prepare for that day. Everything they eat is so fresh and healthy ... definitely a lesson for us in North America. After our visit to the market, we had a cooking class hosted by native Australian Janet De Neefe, who is the author of the book "Fragrant Rice" and who (along with her husband, a Balinese man) owns a couple of beautiful restaurants here in Ubud. It was fascinating to see, and actually participate, in preparing typical Balinese dishes. Afterwards, we were able to enjoy the food we had prepared in the most serene setting.

The following day I enjoyed at day at the spa here at the resort, while Mona had an enjoyable relaxing "free" day. The spa here is incredible. All the treatment rooms are open air and face out onto the terraced rice fields. I have to tell you though, after my first Balinese massage performed by a Balinese man named Maday, I feel we're now engaged and I'll soon be heading to his family compound. It's definitely different from any massage I've ever had in Calgary. They're not really into the draping of the body ... LOL. All of us ladies had a good laugh about that when we gathered for dinner.

That evening, most everyone headed to a Hindu temple for a purification ceremony, but since Mona and I figured we're pure enough already, we decided to head into Ubud for dinner, a little shopping, and a couple of drinks. :-) We ended up at a restaurant/lounge called Casa Luna, which is owned by Janet De Neefe and her husband. The setting is absolutely spectacular (as was the food), and after 8 pm they had a live jazz quartet playing in the lounge.

Yesterday (Thursday), we began our morning traveling by bus to the John Hardy jewelery factory and showroom. It's very high end stuff and was amazing to see how it is crafted. It really made me appreciate why it is so expensive. Having said that ... neither Mona nor I bought anything there because for that price, for some reason, I just feel I should be able to drive it! Several of our travel companions picked up some nice pieces there though. After that, our bus drove us up into the mountains. The highway is very well maintained (although extremely narrow ... barely enough room for two vehicles). The way it climbs, twists and turns, reminded me of driving in Pedregal in Cabo San Lucas (my kids will definitely know what I mean by that reference). The drivers here are amazing. Our bus driver was passing vehicles on this highway ... didn't matter if we were going uphill ... around a corner ... passing everything. My heart was in my throat a few times, but they seem to all understand that's the way to drive here in Bali. Lots and lots of motorcycles and so interesting to see entire families sitting on the motorcycle as it scoots down the highway. We stopped at the Saranam Eco Resort for lunch and just made it inside the restaurant (although it was open air on one side to showcase the view) when the rains came. I have never seen rain like this in my life. You literally couldn't see in front of you. The restaurant staff were rushing around to close the bamboo blinds, but then the winds picked up and started blowing them out. I was a bit nervous at that point as I was sitting close to the edge, but our tour guide Cathy herded us down a stairway into a concrete room for about 10 minutes until it passed. Our Balinese tour guide, Nick, said he had never seen anything like it in the 20 years he has been serving as a guide, and our bus driver told us he actually saw a funnel cloud. The rain let up quite quickly and we headed off to another local market and then on to Beraton Lake. I can't even describe how beautiful it was, but took a ton of pictures to show everyone. I have found many times on this trip so far that the beauty of the people and the scenery is overwhelming and can be very emotional. We both feel so fortunate to be here to experience this ... and it truly is an experience ... much more than a vacation. Tomorrow is our 25 km bike ride down (thank God) from the mountains. The following day, Sunday, we are off to the beach resort in Legian. Not sure when we'll be back to update this, but hope all is well back home and that you are surviving the bitter cold. We are thinking of you and sending lots of warm thoughts. :-)

Deb and Mona

Advertisement



26th November 2010

Sounds like a great time
You write beautifully Deb, I felt like I was right there with you..... not in front of the shower mind you but at least over looking the rice fields..lol
27th November 2010

Heavenly!
Thank you both so much (Deb, I don't know you at all, only Mona) for your beautiful description of your experience so far! I feel like I'm there...almost (it HAS warmed up here, thankfully, but it's certainly not hot as Hades, either :o) ). I'm so glad you're both able to experience a big ol' slice of heaven on earth and give us the lush details! Evelyn

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb