Just got here


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Sanur
July 4th 2010
Published: July 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello,

I thought I would start writing a blog whilst I'm away so people who want to can know what I'm up to.

It's Sunday now and I arrived on Friday evening. It was an odd journey here as it was long but pasted quickly. I was quite surprised though when people kept asking me if I was travelling alone. Also when the plane stopped at Singapore I noticed that no one was speaking english. It did make me a bit nervous that it would be hard to make friends in Bali but it doesn't seem to be the case. Another shock was actually walking out of the airport. As it was 19:00, I wasn't expecting it to be that hot - I was wrong!!! It was 28 degrees.

My room is pretty basic. I've got one plug so I have to pick between my fan or charging something like my ipod. I am also sharing my bathroom with quite a few ants. I have to say I only noticed them though when I was having a shower and I saw them all over me. I had another guest in the morning as well. A dead cockcroft was being eaten by all the ants. To be honest it's not that bad so I'm happy.

I spent yesterday just meeting the people who are also doing courses at the dive centre and went out for dinner with tow other people doing the Divemaster course. It's really random though that everyone else here is in the process of leaving the army. They all talk badly about the army but say I'll be ok because I'm joining the RAF (nice to know!). I have also rented a moped for the month so it's pretty easy getting about. I did walk back from the dive centre though before I got the moped and it took 40 minutes and I was really hot as I did choice to walk back during midday heat. I think going for runs is definitely going to have to happen in the mornings. I've already asked and there is no way I'm going to have a running buddy - I haven't even seen any locals out running.

Last night I was just lying in bed, about to turn the light out when I heard little footsteps. I looked down to see another cockcroft!! I can't believe such a small thing can make such a noise walking across the hard floor. Anyway I directed it out of my room ok and now I know, if it's quiet in my room, I'm alone.

Today has just been a day of first aid lessons which has been ok. I'm just excited about actually getting into the water!! By the way I don't have a camera so I can't show you any photos!

Kat

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb