Thanks to Kurt


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Sanur
January 27th 2009
Published: January 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I received email today from paul Koulbanis and he was surprised to hear I was in Bali. I realized I hadn't included him on the blog distribution list. He asked if I had hooked up with Kurt and it got me thinking about these two remarkable guys.

Paul first went to Hawaii as a college freshman enrolled in Maui Community College. He lasted a week or so and came home. But as soon as he finished college he went back again and this time it stuck. He's been there since and has raised a beautiful family with a lovely wife. In addition, he has served as 'father' to every Westerly surfer to set out to test his skill in the Hawaiian waters. Many Westerly surfers owe much to Paul for his help, hospitality, and guidance.

Kurt was one of those young men who left Westerly to go surf in Hawaii. Kurt didn't stop there and ended up in Bali where he has a lovely family and a beautiful wife. And now he serves as welcome ambassador to those who travel out to Bali.

So it is a bit of a full circle when Kurt served as a gracious
Just a fieldJust a fieldJust a field

But what a field
host to me, Susan, Jack and Nancy here in Bali. He invited us to join him and his friends for dinner two times; once at his house. Everyone immediately liked Kurt. He is a true gentleman and I'm so happy that he is doing so well.

It struck me that Paul and Kurt are the only two surfers from Westerly who left and never came back and created successful lives for themselves in surfing paradises. Oh, others left for a while and still others have travelled a lot. Correct me if I'm wrong, but these are the only two I can think of and I'm happy and proud to be friends with both.

I think it takes a special person to accomplish what these two have done and to then share it with whomever visits them.

thanks Kurt for a great visit to Bali. We'll be back.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Just a cloudJust a cloud
Just a cloud

But what a cloud
UluwatuUluwatu
Uluwatu

Lumpy


27th January 2009

Follow up
Thanks Mike! Correction to the school as it was Mauna Olu College ,which actually folded the following year. Needless to say , I was not ready for the even worse than P.Rico living conditions for college when I arrived in '71!!! Three weeks later I was home in R.I., feeling a failure and vowing to return 5 years later in '76. Where did those years go? 33 years later with great memories with the Westerly boys in the heyday of Maui. Pier One would never be the same!
28th January 2009

moved
Hey man, BT moved to New London...does that count?
30th January 2009

Thanks to Curt
Joe, I stand corrected. Thank you. I'm now home in the 8 degree weather and am preparing a final Bali blog
30th January 2009

BT
Can't forget BT. My man!!!!
2nd March 2009

my pleasure
Hi Mike and friends, It was great to catch up with you while you were here. Your most welcome and I enjoyed the company just as much. I hope you make it out again next year. Nusa has finally kicked in with consistent fun surf almost every day so next time you come out Id say Feb to May are the best months to be here. May being the best! After 22 yrs being here I still cant wait for May! Take care Mike and rgds to Susan and Friends
4th March 2009

Aloha Curt
Curt, Miss ya...Paul
27th April 2010

Hi...
Hi Kurt.... are you Nyoman Swasta that I knew?

Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb