Early start at Segara Bukit Hotel in Banyupom town close to Pemuteran.


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Pemuteran
June 6th 2013
Published: February 1st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Segara Bukit - My favorite spot.Segara Bukit - My favorite spot.Segara Bukit - My favorite spot.

Dinning table on the water
The run off rain in Tulamben had ruined the visibilitly and I made a last minute turn and decided to explore the West side of Bali. Komang my new driver arrived early and was super nice. Ricky complaint to much. But my main issue with Ricky was that he was pressuring me to decide what to do and when. I want to decide..Its my trip. He wants to force me to do what he wants and some how everytime he manages to talk me out of doing what I want ending up very convenient for him. This time Wayan helped me get another diver and encourage me to try the west side and if I didn’t like it I could always come back. We pulled a map, threw in some dive site names and made a couple of phone calls.

I was happy to learn that a driver from Permuteran was happy to pick me up for Rp 450000 when Ricky was charging Rp 500000 + complaints during the way. I gave my new driver the rest as a tip. Last time I wanted to come here and Ricky said it was too far and to much trouble. Same with the elephant ride. I wanted to get a package with a bunch of activities included and he didn’t let me.

Anyway I like to write so I don’t forget!. It was a 4 hour ride. I brought my pillow from the plane to help me sleep. I was awake for the first hour: Lots of traffic, many trucks and everyone beeping. Skinny hilly roads.

When we arrived last night, the driver told me there were a lot of muslam temples I didn’t think anything of it until they started praying with a laud sound amplifier at 3;30 or 4am til 5:15. It drove me nuts all I wanted to do was get out of here. When the prayers stop I felt asleep and got to sleep for another hour and a half. I took the best shower ever since I got here. Steaming hot shower: Outside! I loved it. The sun was rising and it wasn’t raining yet so I went around to take some photos and some videos. Very pretty place. Full of flowers and different color of Pumeria: Pink and white mixed with pink. I will try to remember to take more home (
Mountains + OceanMountains + OceanMountains + Ocean

Perfect Balance
I did take some home, only 4 survived but they are growing strong and I can’t wait to see them blooming. Surprise color)

My Air Con room for Rp 300000 was small compared to Puri-Madha but cute. A little dark to set the camera. It had mosquito net and they had burning mosquito coil for my arrival. It started raining when I took my shower and I was worried about my diving. During breakafast it poored hard but the seas looked calm. Breakfast was included and I had a choice of fruit, pancake and coffee. They didn’t have papaya and the waitress went to the market to get it for me. Under the rain. I felt really bad I didn’t really need the papaya but it was good to have.

Mr Yono showed up tight at 8am. Muslim dude in a muslim town so I started to realize everything from now on was going to be muslim. We negociated and negotiated and I bargain my dives Colombian style until he made an offer that I couldn’t reject but No guide. I figured beach diving easy entry. I had no option but to accept. We packed my gear and off we headed to Permuteran. We stopped at YOS Dive Center, where Mr Yono officially works at and picked up my tanks. The place didn’t blow my mind, for the prices they offer I would expect a lot more. I liked Permuteran a lot. Similar to Sanur. Touristiqui, Balinese mix with Thai and Muslim. Small dive centers everywhere and hotels everywhere. Im sure with more time I can get a room that I like for the right price. For now all I know about it is $60 minimun like Sanur. $55 was the least I got. I saw ATM, one bank, little stores, places to by phone cards and so on. In 45 min drive through curvy skinny roads we made it to Gillimanuk. A port that connects Bali with Java. Not so busy not to touristic. Small. For sure would love to try to stay there to dive Secret bay.

To see videos of the place please click below:

[youtube=
">DgZ69l_lvVA]

">


">


">


">http://youtu.be/ ">DgZ69l_lvVA


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

gardens and more bungalowsgardens and more bungalows
gardens and more bungalows
Desert RosesDesert Roses
Desert Roses
# 9 My Bungalow# 9 My Bungalow
# 9 My Bungalow
My ShowerMy Shower
My Shower
Outside showerOutside shower
Outside shower
Breakfast table. Ocean ViewBreakfast table. Ocean View
Breakfast table. Ocean View
Silly MeSilly Me
Silly Me
The Pool The Pool
The Pool
FishermanFisherman
Fisherman
My favorite Spot!My favorite Spot!
My favorite Spot!
Stuff ....Stuff ....
Stuff ....


2nd February 2014

Bali
I'm certainly glad you found a driver who would take you where you wanted to go. Sounds like you ended up having a nice time. Eager to read more.
2nd February 2014
Stuff ....

Stuff
Now that is a lot of stuff!
12th May 2014
Stuff ....

lol yeap! I have to post one photo from Roatan....its even better...than a few items on the bed ; )

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 12; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0644s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb