Day 6 - Legian


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Legian
April 19th 2013
Published: April 22nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Woke up to find it was raining slightly outside and sky looked pretty threatening. Made me realise I have failed to detail any weather for the trip so far. I can say it has been the same every day. Rather predictable. Overcast with sun trying to peek through every now and then, temps from 25-31 and very humid. If I don’t say anymore, you can presume the weather is unchanged !



Started off the day by dropping off laundry nearby. Only $20-for 7.2kg to be ready for collection tonight. Went to breakfast at a place nearby. Looked cool, as we had to climb into this elevated Bali Hut. Went downhill from there. We were the only people there (WARNING !!!!!).



Ordered some drinks. Kerry had cappuccino and I ordered a Latte as were not sure what expect. We all ordered two eggs on toast, but they came out individually, my coffee was delivered and then I heard the machine going off to make Kerry’s (why can’ they bring them both out together ??).



Rant # 2 – Why don’t Balinese Restaurants start presenting meal and drinks at the same time for all guests like every other place in the world I have been to ?



Anyway after spending $35-bucks I was less than impressed. Our 3 meals so far in Legian quite disappointing, room disappointing and wondering what is going wrong in Legian.



We start walking for a while to get to the shopping area. Thanks to iPhone we were able to locate this place called Ketuts which we read about on Trip Advisor as it has fixed prices avoiding the need to negotiate. Well we stayed here for at least an hour. NBA jerseys $8-, Boardies $3.50, Dresses $3- . We ended up with a massive amount of clothes and it only cost $67- in total. I am starting to like Legian now !



Next we caught a Taxi to Discovery shopping mall. Had lunch at NY Sports Bar. Luke & Elise had a game of pool whist we waited. I think she won as he sunk the black by mistake. Luke had buffalo burger whilst I had a LA burger. Elise had nachos and Kerry had some chicken fried rice & noodle dish. All arrived together. Yippee !!!! Total cost IDR 367,840- or $37-. Not cheap but a good meal finally.



Then we did some more shopping. Checked out Nike store but no deals there. Adidas was about to close down and had no stock left. Damn ! Went to ATM to get some cash and withdrew IDR 1.5million and the ATM gave it to me in 50,000 notes (my wallet is looking pretty thick now, but that is only $150-.



Went to another level and managed to find myself a pair of Nike Slippers. After leaving my sandals behind in Ubud I now have something comfortable to wear outside of my joggers. The girl’s bought some shoes (what’s new ?). I went back to the ATM area to get some more money for tomorrow’s day trip and I ended up withdrawing a total of 5 million in an hour ! Sadly it is not our currency.



Then caught a taxi back to Hotel. Traffic I so bad it was like we were walking (albeit sitting in air conditioned comfort). At one stage I was about to open the window and try and negotiate buying something from a shop as we had time to close the deal ! Lucky Taxi fares are set by negotiation instead of having a timed meter. IDR 30,000 (or $3-) for the 20 minute journey was good value.



Took my new Nike Slippers and boardies for a dip in the pool. Kerry joined me as the kids stayed in the room watching one of their new dvd’s they bought. Pool was pumping with a DJ playing loud music but not overcrowded at all. We got some lounge chairs, and pool was awesome. Watched some Brazilian dancers wiggling their G-Strings around (not that I took much notice !).



Ordered a cocktail (happy hour was on offering 2 for 1 deal). Kerry came back from the poolside bar with something called Illusion (green & mysterious !!). Had a nice dip and then back to room to shower and then pick up laundry (immaculate and even ironed!). I had a new polo shirt that looked as if brand new from shops. Kerry & Luke booked our day trip for tomorrow and we headed off to dinner.



Ignored nearby restaurants and got Taksi (that is how the Balinese spell the word Taxi) to Jalan Padma (near Ketuts fixed price shops), as we saw some restaurant here earlier in the day when we went shopping. Stopped the Taxi where we wanted and caused traffic jam as single lane road. Whilst paying the driver I heard a big bang to find a motorbike had crashed as it tried to go on footpath to get around taxi. Surprised to see a boy under the bike about 10 yrs old. Several men came to lift bike off him. The crack of hitting his head on concrete path was frightening as he had no helmet on. He was clearly injured and sore but plenty of people attending so we walked down the road to find a restaurant. I saw him get up so not too bad I hope.



Came across a Restaurant called Rama Garden with lots of TV’s playing AFL game and NRL so this will do. Had some Garlic Bread /cheese, then it was Pizza time. Aussie pizza for girls to share, an Aussie for Luke as well. I had a Mexican with large Bintang beer. When we arrived Aust vs NZ Anzac Test was 6-6 core but then Aussies exploded and blew the Kiwi’s away. In the AFL game Swans were going down to Geelong. Meals arrived together, great service and dinner cost IDR 562,770-.



Great day today. Good shopping, Good food, Bargain Taxis, Relaxing time, No stress. Yes I am on holidays !!!!! . If we can get breakfast right it would have been just about perfect.



Alarms set tonight as we have to get up at 6.30am !!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0306s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb