Danau (Lake) Batur


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Kintamani
July 2nd 2006
Published: July 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

What an amazing place.

A large rippling grey lake within a huge 300 year old blow-out caldera surrounded by several little poor vilages living on the edge in the shaddow of the active mountain: Gnung Batur.

The volcano last errupted in 2002 I believe, but there was also a small 'leak' last year the bubbling lava from which I should be able to walk by when I trek up to the smaller active crater early tomorrow morning.

I can't wait. A lovely man - Nyoman - (pronounced N-yeoman), accosted me when I entered the Kintermani region and took me to his losman, sorted me out with a discounted room overlooking the lake and a bargin guided tour up the mountain starting at 4am tomorrow. (The Aussie girl also staying at the home-stay has paid 50 US dollars but I got it for 30 - though I've been sworn to secrecy)


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Woman with generator on her headWoman with generator on her head
Woman with generator on her head

..sorry, I couldn't help but smile and take a sly photo of such a ridiculous sight...


Tot: 0.449s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 25; qc: 116; dbt: 0.2992s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb