Rajasthan - a chapter in history


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
July 16th 2014
Published: July 16th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Ok so what's next?

So I decided before going to visit Rajasthan I must read a bit, get myself ready to face this beautiful place. So here I begin to gather information about different aspects of this wonderful places. And boy oh boy, here I realise what I have put myself into. Where do I begin?

There is soo much to know, each small little city has history that can fill pages enough to write a book.

There are glorious kings who have written history over generations and generations. There are beautiful queens and each have a story of their own. There are beautiful palaces, forts, gardens and even whole cities made by ambitious kings.

Ok so I may have to start sequentially, one City after the other trying to understand the history one by one.

So what else is there to know? Climate, food, trees, fruits, animals, birds. A lot.

Hmm. How much history can come from one place?

Legend goes that the Maharana of Jaipur is a descendent of Prabhu Shri Rama and that the construction of Chiitorgarh fort was started by Bhima, the third of the pandava brother.

So that is many many years ago , even befor Christ. Okay so in more recent history there is historical proof from around 7th century A.D. the mauryan empire is said to have constructed the Chittorgarh fort and was named after the Mauryan king Chitrangada Mori.

Wow, this is where the interesting part begins.

In my next post I will start writting about the kings of the Mewar dynasty as they have been said to be the most powerful, influential kings of Rajasthan and who never bowed before any foreign invaders. One after the other they have maintained their honour and bravery and have led exemplary lives.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb