Arrival


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
June 10th 2009
Published: June 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I have grown uneasy. Inevitably, maybe, for what sense can I expect to make of this strange place? I have been hiding in my room at the International Youth Centre for most of the day, finding solace in A Suitable Boy and struggling vainly to ignore the lonely state of things. I took a walk to break out and demystify this sandy, hot, smelly city, but it only led to further disorientation: a prison encased with rusty wire and crumbling moldings, a turbaned man vomiting on the lawn of a large estate, a monkey chained to the back of a passing bicycle. I hurried back, wondering what happened to the India of my fantasies. Where was the music and curry-tinged air? The cuisine? The myth? I have only peanut butter and stale "butter bites," hot highways and the pervading scent of urine.

I recognize that there is value, beauty even, in mercilessly removing yourself from all you hold dear, and tomorrow I will certainly find the magic I'm looking for. Today, though, I am just frightened. It didn't even help when I met two other girls from my program in the lobby- we were too much like desperate sailors clinging to a life-raft, politely beseeching the others not to let us go adrift.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.051s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb