Independance Day


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal
August 15th 2006
Published: August 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

PellingPellingPelling

view from my window
Forgot it was Indepence Day here in India. Arrived in Kalimpong today 15th August, West Bengal after a few places in Sikkim, was searching for a hotel, but all fully booked. After 1 hour and a dozen hotels I settled for a nice double with onsuite for 2 pound fifty.

Anyway spent a night in Darjeeling again cause I was told it was the only place I could get a permit for Sikkim. Atrrived at the Foreign District Registration Office for a permit on Friday at 4.02pm. Read a notice on the door that said open Mon - Fri 9am to 4pm. Damn, I'm gonna have to wait two days I thought, but then the a guy that was still in the office said, oh you can get one at the border. Oh, I've come 50 miles for no reason then, nether mind.

So next day I headed north to Gantok, the capital of Sikkim, attaining my permit at the border. Nothing special there but I did watch Pirates of the Carribean 2 at the cinema for 70 pence. Headed for Pelling at 6am the next day, five hours by jeep.

Pelling was very nice shame that I
PellingPellingPelling

view from my window
was probably the only foreigner at the place at that time, but had a little walk around and saw some awesome views of Indias highest mountain. Had a god ly in and was able to watch TV in my room for the first time in a long while. Didn't have to get up till 11am the next day so I watched discovery channel all night. I know everything there is to know about Alaskan Crab fishing and the making and construction of European Railways.

Got my jeep to Yuksom at 12.30am, not a lot there but I thought I'd check it out cause it was supposed to have some amazing views cause it is right near India's highest mountain, but no luck again, completely clouded over. So at 7am the next day I come to Kalimpong, and here I am, trying to arrange the flight into Myanmar cause you can't get into the country by land.

Anyway fairwell, I'm gonna watch the Hindi remake of Shakespeare's Othello at 5.30 this afternoon for an exceptional price of 20 pence.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

KilimpongKilimpong
Kilimpong

Football match
KilimpongKilimpong
Kilimpong

Football match
KilimpongKilimpong
Kilimpong

Football match
KilimpongKilimpong
Kilimpong

Football match
KilimpongKilimpong
Kilimpong

Football match


Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 75; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb