(almost) one month's budget in India


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Kolkata
July 31st 2008
Published: July 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Rupee with National SymbolRupee with National SymbolRupee with National Symbol

India has wonderful currency. One rupee is currency about 2.5 cents American. The lions are traced back to the great Indian Buddhist emperor Asoka.
I've been recruited by my French friend Valentun (not sure about spelling, but approximation of pronunciation) to help with dressing wounds at Prem Dan. Very tough at first, but it's getting easier and is quite rewarding. Many volunteers have left, so there is more work to do.

Seeing as it is the end of the month, I think I will give a quick overview of the money I have spent so far after arriving in India. I have itemized everything, but I will not post all the details. After all, using the internet is costing me 15 rupees a minute!

Total expenses July 3- 30:

6,982 rs

Most expensive day: July 4 (921 rs)

Least expensive day: July 8 (160 rs)

It's much easier to save money once one knows the cheap places to stay and eat, and how to negotiate with a shopkeeper. I plan to stay in India a long time and take advantage of the dollar's relative strength to the rupee. The lion's share of my travel expenses should be the cost of air tickets from and to America. I would recommend to any of my fellow countrymen who want to travel to Europe to skip it (whats there to see anyway?) and come to Sudder St. in Kolkata. You will meet plenty of wonderful Europeans, and save lots of money.

It turns out that what I thought was the Capital building a couple of posts ago is actually the Victoria Monument. On the way back from it today, a man complimented me on my beard, and asked me how long I had been growing it (he thought 5 months). I'm wondering if it would be a good idea to reply to any of the "Grooms wanted" adverts in the newspaper. There's more people looking for grooms than brides, which is strange seeing as there are more men than women in India.

Advertisement



31st July 2008

Sounds like you should become a nurse whenever you return i think you would find it very rewarding work.
5th August 2008

More men
There may be more men, but are they "quality" men that you would want your daughter to marry? Just wondering....

Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0639s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb