Anonymous Pair of Hands


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Kolkata
July 7th 2008
Published: July 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today was day 3 volunteering. It was good to be going back to the same place with the same people. I knew what to expect. I came in a greeted the people in the usual way. Many stare off into space. Some tell me good morning and have a smile.

Thinking a lot about the pride of a man from the day before, I decide to try to break through this silence a bit. One of the most vocal people is a young man who seems blind in one eye, MR, and has a twisted foot and hand. He has only use of one side of his body. He's probably about 22 and absolutely loves to toss a small ball around. He invites me into his game and we spend 30 minutes or more throwing and chasing this small ball around. I try to introduce variety into the same, so start counting our passes in hindi. Hey, my new language is coming in handy! 😊

During dinner, I look for someone who needs help eating. I find an elderly man who is shaking, but feeding himself. I get a mask, and sit by him, watching him eat. Eventually, he has no more energy to lift the spoon to his mouth, but does want to eat more. I help him out the rest of the time. He has quite an appetite and finishes his entire meal. With a movement of his hand, he sends me away when he is done.

At the end of the shift, a young man comes in. He has long hair and a long beard. His clothes are soiled and flies are almost living on the back of his shorts. He is there to clean up before going back out to the streets. I help shave his head, infested with lice worse than I've ever seen, and clean him up.

I felt being here for such a short time, I should keep to this low-level work. Helping someone out or being that extra pair of hands is something that I could do. And I admire those who dedicate more of their life and time to help those in need.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0853s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb