My School, again.


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Darjeeling
March 20th 2009
Published: March 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Teaching is the main reason that I am here, (well I know some of you will disagree) so I wanted to put up some more pictures of the school, the great kids and the environs - not that pretty! The place is very dilapidated, but the children are full of fun and so are the teachers, although not as dedicated as Australian teachers, but then I guess they wouldn’t be when all they earn is about $100 a month! Don’t know what the all important toilet is like, as I have managed to keep going all day without one. At least there is a loo, at a school where another volunteer is going, there is no toilet so the children just go out onto what is a very busy street and wee and poo in the gutter. I think I would cause a sensation if I did that! A picture tells a thousand words, so enjoy.



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



23rd March 2009

Help for your school children
Dear Beverley, Your school is simply amazing – for all the wrong reasons! But the children seem captivating & I just loved your story on your 'triumph' with Binlay. Yes, you truly can make a difference! The facilities there seem so basic & clearly the children have nothing or next to nothing, so I presume the materials available for you & them to work with must also be at best limited & at worst next to non-existent? I've just placed $100 into your bank account, as I'd like to make a little contribution for the purpose of buying materials for the children to use in class – books, exercise books, pencils, pens, crayons, texta's, rulers, paint (not for the walls!) – you know the sort of thing I mean! A new blackboard even – English reading books or whatever you think they need the most? I know this is only a small token, but I'm sure that where you are, $100 buys a lot of pencils, exercise books & crayons! Best wishes, Ian
29th March 2009

Donation
Thanks Ian, it has given the children heaps. Lets hope more people do the same!

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 21; dbt: 0.0213s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb