Dehra Doon - Indian friend (!!!)


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttarakhand » Dehradun
October 21st 2005
Published: October 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Took the auto-rickshaw to the Forest Research Institute Museum, set in a 500 hectare park and is housed in a very grand Raj era building - according to Lonely planet its bigger than Buckingham Palace, stat’o.

It was a fabulous building and the grounds were beautiful, lots of trees and monkeys. Museum was interesting but it had seen better days.

Took a vickram (shared autorickshaw) back to the hotel. Dropped off at the clock tower.

A young Indian man introduced himself as I was walking to the hotel and asked if he could spend the day with me. He said he liked to spend time with foreigners. Couldn’t really say no so we went for tea, talked politics.

Strolled around the park and an old man lectured us on literature and philosophy, he wrote a quote down for me, "every slayer slays and in time is slain" - I hope he wasn’t referring to me.

Indian guy insisted that I take lots of photos of him... he invited me back to his house to meet his parents but I declined but we exchanged addresses so I have a new pen pal.

Ate mushroom masala for tea, lovely.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb