Night train to Varanasi


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh
February 11th 2016
Published: February 11th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Went to NewDelhi railway station in plenty of time to make sure I knew where to get train and its a good job I did. Firstly my train seemed to be noticeably absent from the deoartures board so I asked at enquiries ( braving the scrum lol ) and found my train was going from platform 15. TyoicallyI was neareast platform one . So got over long bridge , down onto platform where I found my carriage quite easily. Had a side lower berth in the AC2 class.

On the platform I bought some bananas and oranges for the journey and settled down into my seat.

Left on time but onky had about half an hour before it got dark and couldn't se any more so resorted to playing games on the tablet and bought water and crisps from the train vendors.

Decided to turn myseat into sleeping bunk and lay down. This is when I realised my mistake with seat selection. The sleeping berth had gap between the 2 cushions that was most uncomfortable . And beside I was on a side lower everytime someone got on or off train I ended up getting whacked by their luggage


Eventually I dozed off helped by Pink Floyd on the ipod but didnt have a restful sleep and was awake far too early .As soon as it git light I converted bunk back to seat and looked out of window. Was gasping for a cup of tea but cant drink the Indian chai as far too sweet for me so made do with water

We pulled into Varanasi Jct 5 mins early and I was immediately surrounded by tuktuk and rickshaw drivers.

I chose an elderly rickshaw driver who had quoted me 100 rupees to Assi Ghat I felt bad as I hadnt realised it was quite so far for this old guy to cycle through the traffic. But he made it and dropped me a few meters from Assi Ghat. I walked down to the steps and saw the Ganges and was filled with happiness


After chilling there for 20 mins and managing to fob off many drivers guides and touts I decided to make my was to my guesthoude which I knew was 100 meters away. Could I find it? Oh no not a chance. In the end a shopkeeoers heard me asking for directions and phoned the owner for me. Within 5 mins Naveen came and collevted me from the shop and walked me all of 50 yards to the guesthoude where he kindly made me a much needed black tea

Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb