The best place on Earth - New Delhi


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh
January 1st 2011
Published: May 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

We (Guailo, Anna & I) departed from Bundi Bus Station around 930pm on the 1st January 2011 to make our way down to New Delhi. Since trains and private buses aren't running due to the strikes, I suggested that the only way to get to Varanasi is via bus ride to New Delhi, and head down to New Delhi Railway Station and get a Tatkal ticket to Varanasi Junction Railway Station. Well, of course, they weren't really sure of the idea, but hey, it's cheap (since I was really broke lol) and it's the only way to get to New Delhi, given the situation then. We were not mentally prepared of the ride; trust me, government bus ride was the deadliest I've ever experienced! For more than 12 hours, it was such a bumpy ride, that I almost got thrown out of my seat when the bus made a massive 'BUMP!' Surprisingly, we were the only foreigners, and it was bloody cold, and yes, I wasn't really prepared for the bitter winter!

We reached New Delhi Bus Station around 8am the next day, and we alighted and get ourselves some chai. Of course, I was really deprived of cigarettes! We then took out our LP and tried to locate New Delhi Railway Station. Already a group of auto rickshaw drivers circled us and asked where are we heading to. One quoted 600 Rps for each head to get to New Delhi Railway Station. Bloody ripped off! We were at the Bus Station for quite some time though, for almost half an hour. We decided that it's best to walk further out of the Bus Station, and just hail any rickshaw that pass us. Fortunately, while walking out to the main road, an auto rickshaw dropped a fellow passenger, and asked us where are we heading to.

Me: New Delhi Railway Station. How much?
Auto rickshaw driver: 150 Rupees.
Anna: 150 Rupees for all of us? That's pretty cheap!
Me: (Trying to reconfirm, to the driver) 150 Rupees for all three? (With me using hand signals to head count us = 150?)
Auto rickshaw driver: Haar, Yes! yes!
Guailo: What are we waiting for guys? Challo!

Before we got onto his rickshaw, we got caught up for awhile, because the guy whom quoted us 600 Rupees weren't really pleased that we got into another rickshaw. Which I'm guessing that he was in need of some fast cash! But hello, 600 Rupees per head is way too much! Even I don't really pay for my room more than 600 Rps, apart from Swades Guesthouse in Pondicherry. After few minutes, we got onto the rickshaw, leaving the 600 Rps man filled with questions, anger, sadness.. or whatever you want to call that jazz.

It was the most depressing journey from the bus station to the railway station. Not because of the condition of the roads, but the fact that it was freezing cold that the cold wind was biting fiercely onto my skin, and since I'm not really used to cold climate, I was shivering like mad, and trying to endure; mind over matter! It helped a bit though. I tried to distract myself by looking through my LP, and found out that there's a train leaving for Varanasi on that day, in the afternoon. Well I hope it'll be that accurate, because I wouldn't want to stay in Delhi for sure!

After 25 minutes, we finally reach the station. To our dismay, after we got off the rickshaw, the driver was asking for '150 Rps per head'! What the fucking fuck! This is one thing I hate about India; they're not that straight forward; but I don't really blame them in a way because of their living conditions, that they're really one of the poorest country in the world! But I was really annoyed, in fact, we! Guailo argued with him, Anna was really fuming mad, and I was really too tired to argue! In the end, I took out my 150 Rps, throw to the driver, and said, "May you be blessed with 10 daughters!"

The Lonely Planet advised travellers that New Delhi Railway Station is the headquarters of all scams. Which is to say, that we need to look out for the 'OFFICIAL TOURIST COUNTER/OFFICE' when booking Tatkal. I almost fell for one when we found the 'Indian Railway Ticketing Reservation Counter' office on the 1st floor. New Delhi Railway Station is massive and huge! Anna snapped me, saying that this is fake. After spending a good 15 minutes searching for the official tourist counter, we finally found it, with the help of Anna and a local lady.

We decided to chill for awhile, as we were really exhausted. We have yet to brush our teeth or had any shower! All we wanted was a confirmation to get our ass down to Varanasi, found ourselves some decent lodging in Varanasi and that's it! We filled up forms to get our tickets purchased. First counter we went, the Reservation Officer told us that there is no train that leaves for Varanasi. That's when we decided to get out of the station and head to any tour & travel office nearby for some good deals on Delhi to Varanasi buses. Apparently there are no buses that leaves for Varanasi, as claimed by the tour agent, due to the distance covered was more than 600km! That leaves us with the train! We went back to the train station, and went to the tourist office. We made plans to stay in Delhi for one night, well I wasn't really into that plan, but I've got no choice! We went to the reservation counter, this time, a different Reservation Officer served us. I checked with him again if there are any trains that leaves for Varanasi.

Reservation Officer: Yes, there is one train that leaves approximately 1140am today, but if you want to book it here, I suggest you might want to go down to the normal ticketing counter, and book it. It's cheaper that way. Besides, there are confirmed seats/berths in the trains, so go down and book them!
Me: Thank you very much Sir!

Well, at least, a kind soul who was willing to help us! And yes, it was cheaper by few dollars though. We then booked our train rides for 3 pax. Our hearts were filled with joy as we're looking forward to the holiest Hindu city in the world. One of the oldest city in the world too. Varanasi, here we come!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.092s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb