Hanuman temple / Au Revoir Varanasi


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Varanasi
April 19th 2006
Published: April 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I am finally on the train departing Varanasi......what an unforgettable city! I have been spending my extra nights here at the Hanuman temple listening to the nightly classical Indian music concerts. This is a yearly event that bring the best artist frm all the clasical ars forms to varanasi.

The great thing about this concert is the setting. It all happens inside the temple itself so there are also people doing there own puja in amongst it all. You can sit in an area in front of the performers or stand further back. there are also screen projections in the courtyard where you can also see the performance. If you feel sleepy you can always find a nice place to curl up and rest and there is plenty of room in the courtyard to chat with friends.

During the two ights i attended the concert I saw Indian dancing by men, women, transvestites as well as singing accompanied by a classical indian orchestra which ws headed by a very famous tabla player (Kumar something)

So now it's on the Delhi (where I am retrospectively typing this) and then to Ajmer and a short bus ride to Pushkar to meet catherine and Maria. Keep those comments coming in! I love to receive the odd note here and there. The reason they do not appear immediately is because I need to screen them before they appear in the blog. And if I am right you can post a comment without becoming a member of the blog site, so don't be shy!

shall chat again soon! Love and smiles to you all!


Advertisement



21st April 2006

Hello darlink
hello darlink...I am a comment!....My comment is......I miss you.....
22nd April 2006

I believe Hanuman is the monkey god. Did you learn something about Hinduism? Bought any CD? I am sure I will enjoy lying on the floor of a temple listening to music.
22nd April 2006

J J
Hi Gorgeous, itrsounds as thought you are having a fantastic time.Don't like the sounds of all the wild life in the sreets, especially those monkeys, I hate them after being attached in KL. The concer sounds terricic I hope you managed to get some great photos. Hera from you soon All Love JJ
24th April 2006

Envious
Hey Pi Wei I am rather jealous I have to say. Have been there twice so your emails create quite a tangible and visual memory. I saw Water last night (Deepa Mehta's latest offering). I thought of you....a large portion of the film was set at the ghats and all had shaved heads....filmed in Sri Lanka though, as Deepa has a deathwish on her and it was deemed to dangerous to go back to india to film it!.

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.072s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb