crazy poolside tricks


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Varanasi
April 14th 2006
Published: April 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I woke up today at 5:00am and dress to go to the ghats. It was still only the early morning half light and the divine coolness in the air. I followed the alleys to Pandey ghat (the ghat closest to my guest house) and walked northward. People are only beginning to arrive and many are taking their morning shit as they watch the su rise of over the Ganges. Others are just sitting peacefully greeting the appoaching day and I am assailed by boatmen offering me a ride. Well that's what Im here for so I jump in a boat with Raju who asks me impertinent questions as to my real sex, which he is unable to scertain as I have no breasts. then he advises me I can tip him if I like. hmmmm. I have now seen the "other side " of the Ganges as Raju needed to pee....(why didn't he go before we went? .... because his bed is the boat) apparently there are sertain "bad elements" here on the other side but I did not see any except for Raju who wanted to hold hands as he took me for a walk. I dont know if he wanted to do that because I was I girl or a boy but either way I declined and I walked with him to a rise in the sandbank where you could see the "real" shore to the other side of the Ganges. It is only in Monsoon season that the waters will rise and fatten the great mother eough to reach the other shore some 500metres from where we stood.

Back to the ghats and we rowed past the ghats which were now a hive of activity. People were splishing an splashing, gargling and doing crazy poolside tricks. Some ghats are mixed whilst others have more men or women. It's really the women who make the morning bathing ritual so colourful as they enter the Ganges in almost full sari. the men's ghat's are just a riot of shiney brown bodies, loin clothes and mustaches. All this gets spun aroud with crazy poolside tricks and flashing smiles.

And just a note about the my political reality at the moment. Unreast in the Nepal is the current them of chat and of course you can imagine that many traveller's plans will change because of this.

pictures will come soon!
I'm going for a tabla lesson with Kailash now!!!!!! and then to an Indian movie tonight! MmmmmWah!


Advertisement



18th April 2006

you look stunning whatever you are...these are fabulous entires about your travels, so evocative and enjoyable xxx

Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0185s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb