Crap


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Varanasi
May 17th 2008
Published: May 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Jamie: 3

Things that give Jamie diarrhoea: 1

Dammit! I escaped in Patna. I escaped in Darjeeling. I escaped in Kolkata for crying out loud. But not Bodhgaya. I was so hoping to be able to boast that I'd travelled in India without gettting Dehli-belly. But I have been duly punished for my hubris.

The most annoying thing is that I know exactly what's caused my frequent encounters with the loo. I stupidly ordered some lime juice from a restaurant in Bodhgaya. The moment I tasted it I could tell it had been watered down with tap water, but did I then immediately spit it out and not drink any more? No, I drank the whole glass, because I was thirsty and I didn't want to waste the 31p my lime juice cost me of course.

Anyway I'm feeling pretty rotten at the moment though not as bad as I did when I was on the train and I'm now in Varanasi, the holiest city in the world. I'm staying in the old city which is amazing; loads of buildings squashed together, like Naples concentrated. I'm kind of scared to leave my hotel in case I get lost.

My hotel offers free boat trips on the Ganges at dawn and dusk so I'm going to go on one this evening.

Stomach permitting.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb