Ganges to Varanasi...the saga continues


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Varanasi
September 11th 2005
Published: September 11th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I am sitting at an internet cafe in Varanasi. Took a boat on the Ganges and slept in tents a couple of nights ago...it was pretty incredible...I just loved it. Felt like a bag a shit though as the heat and sand and sweat is not a good mix. I thought paddling was tough, the poor two guys that ROWED our spoiled asses for two days have it pretty bad. I sat in and rowed for 27 minutes and fet really bad for them...and myself...blisters on both hands. Hell, I shouldn't complain. I had more than white rice for dinner.

Varanasi is much different than what we have seen so far. The people a luittle more uuummmm....assertive (to be nice) in their way of getting one to rent a boat, buy a leaf with flowers and candle init to sail off and make a wish. Wvwn the cows don't look as nice as the others i hvae seen to date....saw the ghats ..the burning ghats...the buddhist ghats...so many...very cool to experience....you know I am aweful with remembering things so sorry for not being so discriptivee A different way of dealing with death. I think seeing it and smelling it and feeling it is the only way to kinda understand it...if ay of that makes sense.

Tonight we are taking a boat ride and watching an arti..there is to be music on the boat too which should be nice.

I bought a little silk today but the pack i bought is WWAAAAAYYYYYY to heavy. I will be ditching it in nepal and gettting something lighter....and to think I was so proud of that pack. We have nicknamed it the beast...it takes three people to get it on my back and really, I think I have wiped out at least three Indians with it. Oops.

Take good care!
Until the next log...be well.
love robena
xo

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.058s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb