Surviving a Pilgrimage in India with Krystal


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Agra
July 20th 2017
Published: April 17th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Who's idea was it to take myself and my fellow client on a 22 kilometer "Holy Walk" at night, through a remote Indian village...Barefoot.

Oh right...it was my idea.

Sure the Taj Mahal is what everyone comes to India to see...(which we did) but what if you wanted something more than the normal touristy spots and stories? What if you had a chance to experience a once in a lifetime opportunity to create a memory and a story worth telling...one that can't be explained with a simple photo.

My first week in India over a year ago, my local Indian friends took me on this very pilgrimage and it opened my eyes to a whole new world I never would have dreamed real if not for my very own eyes confirming the impossible sights around me. This time was no different.

I removed my shoes and left them in the vehicle in order to begin the journey by making an offering of sweets and flowers to Lord Krishna inside the local temple. We started the journey at 10 at night and didn't finish until 5 in the morning (one hour faster than I finished my first time around.)

The morning after was spent trying sleeping in the car while trying to elevate my feet from the ground (as the pain in my feet was too excruiating to keep it on the floor after such an endeavor.) As I shut my eyes from total exhaustion, the sheer volume of all that I had witnessed and experienced in such a short time had my head spinning and my body floating. The shrines, the temples, the people, the stories, the pain, the laughter, the joy, the peacefulness of the night, the picturesque village, the barking dogs, the squeeking peacocks, the naughty monkeys, the delicious tea and power outages...

Although I cant describe to you in words what such an adventure feels like after accomplishing it, I can say I never felt more accomplished. And now I can say proudly: "Hey. I walked 22km in India on a nightime pilgrimage...BAREFOOT. What have you done today?"

Please check out my website: https://www.kryskolumbustravel.com

Also: www.krystal-kelly.com


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



17th April 2013

India with Krystal
To book a tour like this with Krystal please check out: https://www.facebook.com/IndiaWithKrystal

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb