The Taj


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Agra
January 3rd 2011
Published: January 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I don't even know where to start.....words such as amazing, spectacular, moving come to mind. The Taj Mahal is every bit wonderful as the photos indicate and people say it is.

We arrived to the Taj early in the morning, hoping to avoid the crowds. Fortunately for us females, there were separate female & male lines to line up at. We were in in about 2 minutes, the guys not so lucky - they were stuck in the line for almost 2 hours.

I don't know what it is about me, but apparently to the Indian people visiting the Taj that day, I was every bit as interesting as the Taj. I couldn't walk 10 metres without a family or group of young people coming over, wanting to chat and to have my photo. As I was leaving I was literally swarmed by a group of about 50 young kids...it was hilarious (and maybe a little overwhelming).! I'll be in photo albums all across the country!

After a wonderful couple of hours at the Taj we headed off to Agra Fort, an amazing building with a very interesting past. It was here that Shah Jahan, who built the Taj, was imprisoned by his son and never to see his masterpiece in completion.














Here are my top 5 for Agra;

1. The Taj - how could it not be number #1

2. Watching the sunset over the Agra Fort

3. Running away screaming from the hundreds of monkeys that started coming in the main entrance of Agra Fort just as we were leaving....they were angry looking monkeys and we caused a little bit of a scene

4. The rooftop restaurant at our hotel which overlooked the Taj - just spectacular!

5. Being in my first road accident in India. Our tuk tuk hit the back of the car in front of us and everyone just kept driving....no big deal...






Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



5th January 2011

gr8 to see the wonderful pics.
Hiii.... it seems you enjoying INDIA to the core. Even i want to experience the cultural diversity of india. Could you or any traveler help me, as m looking forward to do an internship in India, but unable to find the right source through which i should be goin??.... any recommendations please.... Regards John John81young@yahoo.com
7th January 2011

Your India trip
Just wanted to let you know that I am looking forward to your next blog. I am doing an Intrepid trip through India in October so are reading your blogs with interest. I also really like your photos. Keep up the good work!
7th January 2011
The Taj

Mesmerising Taj!
Beautiful composition. The colourful sarees have added just that special touch to this photo......Bahut accha PK!!

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb