Agra 27th - 29th August


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Agra
August 31st 2010
Published: August 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Agra, once the capital of the Mughal Empire, has one of the greatest buildings on earth, the Taj Mahal. I never knew why the Taj was so famous apart from the fact that it is an incredible heritage. But I guess that’s one of the reasons why I’m travelling - to find out why, where and when.

In Agra I grew very very fond of the Mughal architecture. It is so incredible and rich, with amazing details. Especially the various stones they used. I went to a factory to find out about the manufacturing of marble. They showed me which marble was used for the Taj and how they carved and glued the stones. (Visiting factories or shops in India is a great way to get around on a rickshaw very cheaply or almost for free. The driver earns commission by taking you there. It can get quiet annoying when the merchants are persistent in making you buy something; but I just wanted to know how they handle marble.)

The Taj Mahal, a mausoleum, was built under the order of Shah Jahan in memory of his most-loved wife, Mumtaz Mahal. According to the rough guide Taj Mahal is a short informal version of Mumtaz Mahal.
When I visited the Taj it was as incredible as everyone said it would be. I think when visiting famous cultural sites you find it doesn’t look any different or more impressing than on the pictures, but the Taj was phenomenal. Being there made me appreciate again how fortunate I am to be able to travel around and see those kinds of sites.

The story of the Taj is very romantic. Shah Jahan built the Taj after his wife died giving birth to his 14th child. He had many other wives but loved her the most. It is also said that from the Agra Fort he spent his last days looking at the Taj thinking of his wife. I guess all girls who visit the mausoleum wish to find that kind of husband for themselves. Not surprising is the fact that nowadays it’s a popular place for couples.
At the Taj I was quite a sight too. Nowhere else was I photographed as often as there. Passing Indians would ask politely if they could take a picture with me. I should have charged money for that service. I could make a living like that here.

I also visited the Agra fort where the Mughals reigned from 1565 - 1707. Very impressive, but not as much as the Taj.

After Agra I took the train to Delhi, where from I took the night bus to McLeod Ganj (Dharamsala). Next blog to come.



Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



14th November 2010
Taj Mahal

Great picture, I hope to visit one day.

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0621s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb