Simply Amazing


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Agra
February 15th 2007
Published: February 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Taj MahalTaj MahalTaj Mahal

Just Great
Gday guys..
Well as you can guess I went and visited the Taj Mahal yesterday morning and it did not disappoint! I was getting worried as everyday in India so far it had rained but lucky it cleared up for an amazing view. I was up nice and early to go and watch the sun rise and was about 20 minutes early before the gates open so sipped Indian tea with the guards there while they were holding there gun and things. They gave me a run down on the Taj Mahal so that was nice of them.
It was still dark when we entered (there was only 8 others that morning) so saw the whole sun rise with not a cloud in the sky and not a breath of wind. It was brilliant watching the Taj change colors as the run rose further. Taking pictures was a pleasure took about 50 I recon.. Na that’s a lye prop more like 70!
It is a lot larger than I thought it would be when up close and the detail that went into it was second to none expectaly since it was built around 400 years ago! I’ve got some quick fact
Taj MahalTaj MahalTaj Mahal

Sun Rising
on it here but took a couple of photos of the info board so check them out for more info.. Took 20 years to build, 2000 men to build, built for his second wife (she must have been pretty good!), made out of white marble, the flower decorations are individual gems and the marble was carved out soeach gem would fit into place, there are thousands of flowers, the king was going to build a second Taj which would be black opposite but son over through him and put him in jail (Im not getting any ideas Dad I don’t want M10 that much)
As everyone has properly heard and Im going to say it again pictures just don’t do it justice!!

For the city itself Agra, Ill just say that is very very lucky to have the Taj Mahal there. I was going to stay for 2 nights but got out of there, Im in Jaipur now, and changed all my plans around as well. Going to Jaisalmer tomorrow I’ve decided then work things out after that.
The trip to Agra from Delhi was eventful as I was on a local bus. Took about 4 hours and was
Taj MahalTaj MahalTaj Mahal

Reflecting View
utter chaos. Just made the bus as the tuk tuk driver tried to pull a swiftly over me. I said to him to take me to the bus station to Agra (lucky I went there the previous day to get a ticket) and straight away he started going the wrong direction. I told him and he said "short cut" I said "no shortcut going wrong way" and pointed on the map to where I wanted to go. Well he tried to drop me off at a bus station but the wrong one so an argument broke out till he finally gave in and an hour latter we arrived at the correct bus station and the cheek off him he wanted me to pay extra for the extra trip!!! Couldn believe it! But that is what comes with India though. Most people are really friendly and love to have a chat while having a cup of tea. The bus itself was packed to the rafters.. People on the roof, hanging out the door, arguing trying to get a better seat. So I just sat there and didn move for the whole time keeping an eye on my belongings. Good experience though
Taj MahalTaj MahalTaj Mahal

Morning
luckily sat next to a nice guy form Goa and he was real nice.
Also Indian people really know how to celebrate a wedding I’ve noticed.. They go for three days! The 1st the women sing around the streets, 2nd is the weeding party and the 3rd is the celebration party for getting married. It is not about 200 people either more like 1400 people as I found our last night. The hostel manager’s daughter is getting married soon and told me about it. They have fireworks, the whole lot. There was a couple of weeding in Jaipur last night as fireworks were going of all over the place.
The bus trip to Jaipur was ok except Im never going to complain about the road from Scottsdale to Bridport again! They are paradise compared to the roads over here. There was plenty to see, Castels in the dustance along hill sides and heaps of small towns. When out of the city we passed a few camels and I was like "wow" a camel so went diving for my camera and everyone started staring at me like I was weird.. For the next 6 hours on the bus I think we
Taj MahalTaj MahalTaj Mahal

Outline Very Early
passed about 300 camels! They are everywhere. I really looked like a tourist then!! Also I have found where all the women are as well, they are in the fields while the men in the city or sitting around along the road playing cards. When in the citys you will notice that there is hardly a woman in sight and it seems they are run by men. But they are out in the fields doing the stuff carrying huge amounts or stuff around on there heads. Something else Ive noticed is the amount of people "fertilizing" the paddocks, under trees, side of the road just anywhere. Not the best thing to see along the way but when you got to go you got to go.
That’s properly enough this time so write more about Jaipur latter on.



Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Taj MahalTaj Mahal
Taj Mahal

Sun Approaching
Taj MahalTaj Mahal
Taj Mahal

See How Early I Got Up.. Massive Bed Hair
Taj MahalTaj Mahal
Taj Mahal

More Light
Taj MahalTaj Mahal
Taj Mahal

The Different Colours
Taj MahalTaj Mahal
Taj Mahal

The People Give You Some Idea Of The Size.. This Is Just A Door!
Taj MahalTaj Mahal
Taj Mahal

Each Flower Is A Gem
Taj MahalTaj Mahal
Taj Mahal

The Detail Is Amazing
Taj MahalTaj Mahal
Taj Mahal

This Kind Of Pattern Is All Over The Taj
EnteranceEnterance
Enterance

Reverse Angle
Taj MahalTaj Mahal
Taj Mahal

And Me
Taj MahalTaj Mahal
Taj Mahal

Looking Up
Taj MahalTaj Mahal
Taj Mahal

Guest House
Taj MahalTaj Mahal
Taj Mahal

Local
Taj MahalTaj Mahal
Taj Mahal

View From My Hostel Having Breakfast


16th September 2010
Taj Mahal

Was it the Shanty Logde you stayed at? We had Christmas dinner on their roof top restaruant, a couple of years ago. The view was fantastic. Here is a photo we took of it. :) http://www.travelblog.org/Photos/3634447
3rd January 2011
Taj Mahal

Cool picture.

Tot: 0.291s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 30; qc: 151; dbt: 0.1774s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb