Birthday!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Madurai
October 17th 2006
Published: October 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Yay! Its my birthday and I christen the new blog... one I hope that will be a lot better designed than the other one. With this one... if im correct there should be a button to hit that says "subscribe". Well, if you wanna subscribe... subscribe.

This is the least its evwer felt like my birthday, well, except from the emails and Facebook messages ive recieved (thanks). Big 21. as I sometimes say in the gruffest voice I can muster to make fun of myself, "I'm a MAN!". Well, I dont feel any different, but I guess it will make obtaining alcohol easier.

So, onto observations. As Ive read in cultural studies books, one is to expect people from warm weather cultures to say things that maintain the relationship at the moment, even coming close to lying wheras cold weather cultures prefer the plain, hard facts. For example, if you ask someone from a warm weather climate if your hair lokos good that day, generally they will tell you it looks great, even if it doesn't. Cold weather people the opposite. So.... preface aside.... I have never once asked someone for information and had them telll me they didnt know. Usually ill ask and they will look befuddled. Then they will tell me something. I will ask them again for confirmation. Then they will gain confidence and respond as if they actually do know what I asked about. Well, usually they dont. I had to go on an 1.5 hour bus ride to meet this professor for my project. I had talked to him when he came to give a lecture about my project, but he answered every question with the politics of globalization. Yeah, he's Marxist. Anyway, I didnt want to go see him, but one of my directors insisted so I humored him and woke up early to take a bus to this far away college. The transfer point was not where my director said, but I found where the buses were and asked many people what buses went to Madurai Kamaraj University. Out of about 15 people bus 21 was the highest grossing with a whopping 4. I had no better thing to do than to just get on and hope for the best. By the time we were at the city limits I asked the conductor if the bus went to the University. He said it didnt. So, I took evasive action and jumped off the moving bus that instant into traffic. Ok, not as serious as it sounds since the bus was going no more than 10 miles and hour and was near the curb. So i hailed the first rickshaw and asked how much. He said 150 rupees and explained that it weas 15 kilometers away. That is a humungous, ridiculous, prposterous price here. Oh wait, thats only 3 dollars. I didnt have a choice since the appointment time was quickly approaching. The rickshaw ride took about 30 mintues and by the time I got there I was 20 minutes late. I was supposed to call the professor once at the gate, but, oh what are the odds, i didnt get any service around there. It was sunday so there was not a single person in the campus and after 30 minutes of walking around with little hope of finding him I went back out to the entrance to get the next bus back. Guess what bus pulled up jsut as I got to the stop? You guessed it, bus 21.

Advertisement



17th October 2006

omg....that's just way too funny... Happy Birthday Nate

Tot: 0.215s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb