Faith Like A Child


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Chennai
May 11th 2010
Published: May 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

These verses were framed and on the wall in Little Lights Children’s Home and are a great reminder of how we should be living our lives for Christ.
Mark 9:37
Whoever receives one such child in my name, receives me, and whoever receives me, receives not me but him who sent me.

Mark 10:14-15
But when Jesus saw it, he was indignant and said to them, “Let the little children come to me; do not hinder them, for to such belongs the kingdom of God. Truly, I say to you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God like a child shall not enter it.”

Matthew 18:10, 14
“See that you do not despise one of these little ones. For I tell you that in heaven their angels always see the face of my father who is in heaven.
So it is not the will of my Father who is in heaven that one of these little ones should perish.

Matthew 18:4-5
Whoever humbles himself like this little child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven. Whoever receives one such child in my name receives me.

How often do we follow up on our prayers for people? This is one thing I was convicted of while in India. Tierney had a skin tag removed and she was in a bit of a recovery from it. Because of the recovery, she didn’t go to LLCH for a couple days. When we went there for ministry on those two afternoons, the children ran up to us and asked “Auntie Tierney? How is she? We have prayed many times for her to heal quickly!” When she came back with us a couple days later, they prayed for her right then and there! That challenged me to take a look at and think about my own prayer life for others.

So many times I have asked people how they are doing in life and what they need prayer for and inform them that I will pray for them. Unfortunately, many, many times, I have failed to do just that, to pray for them. To stick to what I said I would do for them and later forget to ask them “How are you doing in this area that I have been praying for you?” Or, I don’t pray for them right then and there in the moment when they need it most.

So many times, these children of lepers have shown me what a true follower of Christ should do in many areas of our walks. How often do we actually commit to praying for people, really, true, sincere prayer? Not only that, but following up afterwards with them to ask how they are doing in the area that we are praying for them.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb