YES!!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Chennai
January 15th 2010
Published: January 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Me again. I seem to write when I'm hangdog about something or other, so on a day like today when I feel really great, thought I should enter your inboxes.
After last night's entry, went out to eat and discovered every place I could have eaten was closed for Pongal. Suddenly decided I'd had enough, having seen the Broad-billed Sandpiper I'd traveled thousands of kilometers to see, and in 2 hours was on a bus to Chennai(Madras). Realizing that one of the things that makes my heart sing is the ability to do spontaneous things, and travel certainly gives me that. Face it, when was the last time you decided all of a sudden, to get on a night bus and just go? Try it, I dare you.
Long night, but careful driver, I got some sleep and arrived about 8am. Just what I needed, some city energy.
Staying at the Broadlands hotel, an old hippie haunt since hippies were bohemians or beatniks back in 1951. I only discovered it in 1989, but it's my favorite hotel in all India. Three floors of rooms around a courtyard with an enormous shade giving tree, every room unique, with high ceilings, well appointed as they say, with a desk and armchair. My room had windows that swing open to reveal empty grounds and a large mosque, which will entail early morning call to prayers, but if it's not the Muslims it's the Hindu temples, just something one gets used to. Clientele are mainly travelers of a certain age, and we give each other knowing looks without actually saying anything. looks that say, "Yeah, you're cool, I can tell you've been around, and you have the taste to stay in a place like this. We would probably be friends if we weren't too cool to actually speak to each other, and I wasn't afraid you'd steal my girlfriend"

Washed all my clothes, read for a while while they dried, then explored a little. Large Muslim population in this area, I can get you a burkha quite cheap, and for Adarsha, the unkindest cut of all, available upstairs of Sams Hotel at the "Excellent Circumcision Center". Speaking of my buddy he's in Mumbai today!! See you next month brother. Welcome to India.

Had my lungi and clean shirt pressed, in an effort that shows I'm making some effort for Narayani's imminent arrival, which is thrilling and freaking me in equal measure.( I love that for 8 pence I can get someone to iron clothes for me. Bring back the Raj!) She's booked us into a place that costs the equivalent of a month's rent where I stayed last. It's so possible to spend a lot here, or a little. My bus fare for 11 hour journey was three quid, then the rickshaw driver at bus stand wanted same amount to get me to the hotel. I took the local bus and felt very smug about it. (5 pence)

Food in local restaurants actually includes chunks of vegetable matter, which is exciting, but being a Muslim area, signs of non-veg cruelty hanging in shop windows and creating a stench that only fresh blood and guts can. Best not to visit those areas before eating.

May go to cinema tonight, some English films always playing, probably Avatar, seems to be everywhere.

Hey, I'm feeling good! What more can I say? Hope you are too. Take my advice and hop on a night bus to somewhere, you won't regret it.

Love



Advertisement



15th January 2010

Lost Foreskin
Is this some kind of in joke. What's with Adarsha and circumcision or is it something you don't want to share with the other 7 billion?

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb