Vanakkam from Madras!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Chennai
December 10th 2007
Published: December 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Madras relativesMadras relativesMadras relatives

Just one of the multiple visits we have made so far.... Yes, that's one of my new sarees, I like it a lot.
We have arrived in Chennai, India. The old name of Madras seems to roll off my tongue better. We are impressed with the remodeling of the Chennai airport. The line at Immigration is the shortest I have ever seen, only about 10-15 minutes wait. Much improved since last trip 2 years ago! Anyhow, we have been here 2 days now and are finally adjusting to the local time schedule. Thank goodness for melatonin! We have not done a whole lot, just a spot of shopping and some visiting. Everyone here is well. Tomorrow we take the train to Tirunaveli (not sure I spelled that right....). Dr. Balasubramanian has kindly offered his house for us to stay in during our time down South. I am having to wear clothes I bought yesterday since I did not pack enough clothes. Well, that's alright, I was planning to go shopping anyway. Just thought the fabric I brought to get stitched into salwars would be finished sooner so I could wear those but its the busy season and so there is a wait. Anant bought some pants and had to get the length altered. Went to Pothy's in T. Nagar and it was wall-to-wall people due to the weekend crush of shoppers. There was some deal where you got a free gift if you spent so much money. So we came home with a silverware utensil set for one person!

As I promised, pictures! This one was taken during one of the family visits here in Madras.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.208s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb